Tablets

Sony Z3 Compact with Android 7.1.2 - only possible via custom ROMs

Android: Do manufacturers bypass "Project Treble"?

With "Project Treble" the update problem in the Android world is supposed to improve - unfortunately the full functionality is only available for devices that were delivered with Android 8.0 "Oreo". Almost the impression arises that the manufacturers try to slow down Treble intentionally: even devices that will be introduced in 2018 (and thus after Android 8.1 is released) will be shipped with Android 7.x first - only ...

Android: Do manufacturers bypass "Project Treble"? Read More "

Kindle Fire HD 8.9 available in Germany

Amazon is also selling the Kindle Fire HD 8.9 shopping tablet in Germany from today, starting at 269 euros. In return, you get a tablet with an 8.9 inch display, which offers a resolution of 1,920×1,200. Furthermore, 16 or 32 GB memory is integrated and dual band WLAN. According to first tests, the device is fast enough to play all media sold by Amazon for the device. In addition to the Kindle Store, ...

Kindle Fire HD 8.9 available in Germany Read More "

Sony Xperia Tablet Z: thin and waterproof

With the Xperia Tablet Z, Sony brings a tablet that matches the Xperia Z smartphone. The special features: a thickness of only 6.9 millimetres and IP67 certification. The latter means that the tablet can survive a bath in one meter of water for 30 minutes without damage. This makes it ideal, for example, if you are taking a bath and don't want to do without the Internet even then. But ...

Sony Xperia Tablet Z: thin and waterproof Read More "

Google Nexus 10: Data and images surfaced

On Monday, Google will present the Nexus 10 tablet, weather permitting, and will add a big brother to the well-known Nexus 7. The device, which according to a BriefMobile report has a resolution of 2,560 x 1,600 pixels at 10.1 inches, will be the new flagship among Android tablets. Besides the display, which has a much higher pixel density than Apple's "Retina Display" in the iPad ...

Google Nexus 10: Data and images surfaced Read More "

Google Nexus 7: first impression

After I ordered a Google Nexus 7 through a campaign on the PostedPlanet.com website, I had time over the weekend to get a first impression. For comparison I have an iPad 3, which plays in a different price league, but is the main competitor of the Android tablets. With the Nexus 7 manufactured by ASUS, which is available in 8 and 16 GB, Google wants to create a reference model for ...

Google Nexus 7: first impression Read More "

Samsung loses to Apple - high penalty

Samsung has suffered a major setback in the much-noticed lawsuit between Apple and Samsung in the USA: the court ruled that Samsung must copy the design of the iPhone manufacturer from Cupertino and pay a fine of over one billion US dollars. Apple also wants to obtain a ban on sales, which would hit Samsung additionally. Apple naturally sees the verdict as very positive, and the lawyers of the currently most valuable company have agreed to the court's ...

Samsung loses to Apple - high penalty Read More "

Order Google Nexus 7 with Posted Planet subscription

The website Posted Planet - according to its own statement "a new daily newspaper for new readers on the web, at the tablet and at the reader" - offers the Google Nexus 7 tablet in the 8 and 16 gigabyte versions for ordering in its own shop. The 8 GB model costs 209.90 €, the 16 GB version costs 244.90 €. The only commitment you make is a Posted Planet subscription via the Pulse-Reader app, which is ...

Order Google Nexus 7 with Posted Planet subscription Read More "

iPad 3: First experiences, impressions

Even though Apple does not refer to the third iPad as iPad 3 but only as "iPad", it helps to make it clear which iPad is meant. So the language here will be "iPad 3" 😉 As already noted in the previous blog entry, the main new feature of the current iPad generation is the display: with a resolution of 2,048×1,536 pixels, it beats pretty much everything it currently offers in the consumer sector.

iPad 3: First experiences, impressions Read More "

Absinthe: Download Untethered Jailbreak for iPhone 4S and iPad 2 with iOS 5.0.1

Until now, there was no untethered jailbreak for the iPhone 4S and the iPad 2 with iOS 5 and 5.0.1 respectively. After a restart of the device, the jailbreak had to be performed again each time. Now there is a tool called Absinthe (message on PCGames.de) which performs the jailbreak under MacOS. An integration into the well-known redsn0w tool is planned, as well as a Windows and Linux version. Supported is ...

Absinthe: Download Untethered Jailbreak for iPhone 4S and iPad 2 with iOS 5.0.1 Read More "

Samsung brings Android 4.0 ICS to tablets - in 2012

According to Golem.de, Samsung has announced to release Android 4.0 "Ice Cream Sandwich" (ICS) next year for the current tablets Galaxy Tab 10.1, 8.9, 7.7 and 7.0. The original Galaxy Tab (without number) seems to go empty, but in any case Samsung hasn't made an announcement here yet. This will give Samsung's tablets, which are closest to the iPad 2 in terms of workmanship and appearance, the ...

Samsung brings Android 4.0 ICS to tablets - in 2012 Read More "

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Tablets

Sony Z3 Compact mit Android 7.1.2 - nur über Custom-ROMs möglich

Android: Umgehen Hersteller „Project Treble“?

Mit „Project Treble“ soll sich die Update-Problematik in der Android-Welt verbessern – leider gibt es die volle Funktionalität nur für Geräte, die mit Android 8.0 „Oreo“ ausgeliefert wurden. Fast entsteht der Eindruck, die Hersteller versuchen Treble absichtlich zu bremsen: selbst Geräte, die erst im Jahr 2018 (und damit nach erscheinen von Android 8.1) vorgestellt werden, werden vom Hersteller zuerst mit Android 7.x ausgeliefert – nur …

Android: Umgehen Hersteller „Project Treble“? Read More »

Kindle Fire HD 8.9 in Deutschland erhältlich

Amazon verkauft ab heute das Einkaufs-Tablet Kindle Fire HD 8.9 auch in Deutschland, und zwar ab 269 Euro. Dafür bekommt man ein Tablet mit 8,9-Zoll-Display, welches eine Auflösung von 1.920×1.200 bietet. Außerdem sind 16 oder 32 GB Speicher integriert und Dual-Band-WLAN. Ersten Tests zufolge ist das Gerät schnell genug, um alle Medien die Amazon für das Gerät verkauft abzuspielen. Neben dem Kindle Store wird auch …

Kindle Fire HD 8.9 in Deutschland erhältlich Read More »

Sony Xperia Tablet Z: dünn und wasserdicht

Mit dem Xperia Tablet Z bringt Sony ein zum Xperia Z Smartphone passendes Tablet. Die Besonderheiten: eine Dicke von nur 6,9 Millimetern und eine Zertifizierung nach IP67. Letzteres bedeutet, dass das Tablet ein Bad in einem Meter Wassertiefe für 30 Minuten unbeschadet überstehen kann. Damit ist es zum Beispiel ideal, wenn man ein Bad nimmt und auch dann nicht auf das Internet verzichten will. Aber …

Sony Xperia Tablet Z: dünn und wasserdicht Read More »

Google Nexus 10: Daten und Bilder aufgetaucht

Am Montag wird Google, sofern das Wetter mitspielt, das Nexus 10 Tablet vorstellen und dem bekannten Nexus 7 einen großen Bruder zur Seite stellen. Das Gerät, welches einem Bericht von BriefMobile zufolge über eine Auflösung von 2.560 x 1.600 Pixeln bei 10,1 Zoll aufweist, wird das neue Flaggschiff unter den Android-Tablets. Neben dem Display, welches eine deutlich höhere Pixeldichte aufweist als Apples „Retina Display“ im iPad …

Google Nexus 10: Daten und Bilder aufgetaucht Read More »

Google Nexus 7: erster Eindruck

Nachdem ich über eine Aktion der Webseite PostedPlanet.com ein Google Nexus 7 bestellt habe, hatte ich über das Wochenende Zeit, mir einen ersten Eindruck zu verschaffen. Zum Vergleich habe ich ein iPad 3, welches zwar in einer anderen Preisliga spielt, aber der Hauptkonkurrent der Android-Tablets ist. Google will mit dem von ASUS hergestellten Nexus 7, welches mit 8 und 16 GB verfügbar ist, ein Referenz-Modell …

Google Nexus 7: erster Eindruck Read More »

Samsung verliert gegen Apple – hohe Strafzahlung

Im vielbeachteten Prozess zwischen Apple und Samsung in den USA hat Samsung einen herben Rückschlag einstecken müssen: das Gericht entschied, dass Samsung das Design des iPhone-Herstellers aus Cupertino kopiert und eine Strafzahlung von über einer Milliarde US-Dollar leisten muss. Apple will zudem ein Verkaufsverbot erwirken, was Samsung zusätzlich treffen würde. Apple sieht das Urteil naturgemäß sehr positiv, die Anwälte des derzeit wertvollsten Unternehmen haben sich …

Samsung verliert gegen Apple – hohe Strafzahlung Read More »

Google Nexus 7 mit Posted Planet Abo bestellen

Die Webseite Posted Planet – nach eigener Aussage „eine neue Tageszeitung für neue Leser im Web, am Tablet und am Reader“ – bietet das Google Nexus 7 Tablet in der 8- und 16-Gigabyte-Version zum Bestellen an im eigenen Shop an. Das 8-GB-Modell kostet dabei 209,90€, die 16-GB-Version schlägt mit 244,90 zu Buche. Die einzige Verpflichtung die man eingeht ist ein Posted-Planet-Abo über die Pulse-Reader-App, welches …

Google Nexus 7 mit Posted Planet Abo bestellen Read More »

iPad 3: Erste Erfahrungen, Eindrücke

Auch wenn Apple das dritte iPad nicht als iPad 3 sondern nur als „iPad“ bezeichnet, hilft es doch, deutlich zu machen, welches iPad gemeint ist. Also wird hier die Sprache vom „iPad 3“ sein 😉 Wie schon im vorherigen Blog-Eintrag bemerkt, ist das wesentliche neue Merkmal der aktuellen iPad-Generation das Display: mit 2.048×1.536 Pixel Auflösung schlägt es so ziemlich alles, was es derzeit im Consumerbereich …

iPad 3: Erste Erfahrungen, Eindrücke Read More »

Absinthe: Untethered Jailbreak für iPhone 4S und iPad 2 mit iOS 5.0.1 zum Download

Bisher gab es für das iPhone 4S sowie das iPad 2 mit iOS 5 bzw. 5.0.1 keinen untethered Jailbreak, nach einem Neustart des Geräts musste der Jailbreak jedes mal erneut durchgeführt werden. Nun gibt es mit Absinthe ein entsprechendes Tool (Meldung auf PCGames.de), welches den Jailbreak unter MacOS durchführt. Eine Integration in das bekannte redsn0w-Tool ist geplant, ebenso eine Windows und Linux Version. Unterstützt wird …

Absinthe: Untethered Jailbreak für iPhone 4S und iPad 2 mit iOS 5.0.1 zum Download Read More »

Samsung bringt Android 4.0 ICS auf Tablets – in 2012

Samsung hat laut Golem.de angekündigt, Android 4.0 „Ice Cream Sandwich“ (ICS) im kommenden Jahr für die aktuellen Tablets Galaxy Tab 10.1, 8.9, 7.7 und 7.0 zu veröffentlichen. Das ursprüngliche Galaxy Tab (ohne Nummer) scheint dabei leer auszugehen, auf jeden Fall hat Samsung hier noch keine Ankündigung gemacht. Damit bekommen Samsungs Tablets, die am dichtesten am iPad 2 dran sind was die Verarbeitung und die Optik …

Samsung bringt Android 4.0 ICS auf Tablets – in 2012 Read More »

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol de_DEDeutsch
Nach oben blättern