Internet

Bandwidth management in the home office

Those who normally upload large amounts of data while they are not at home may have a problem with the cloud upstream or backup replication in times of home office. In the same way, it can lead to problems if family members want to upload larger amounts of data in parallel. To avoid this, there are various approaches on how the available bandwidth can be divided in the best possible way, ...

Bandwidth management in the home office Read More »

Telekom user prompted to change password

Apparently working access data of Telekom customers is floating around on the darknet. The Bonn-based company is calling on customers to change their passwords, but denies a server hack. Telekom suspects that the data originated from phishing attacks - an attack on the servers is not said to have taken place. According to the Telekom announcement, the darknet data should also contain the access data ...

Telekom user prompted to change password Read More »

BayernWLAN: 20,000 WLAN hotspots created with Vodafone

The BayernWLAN, in which 20,000 Wifi access points are to be made available throughout the state, is being further expanded with the help of Vodafone. WLAN hotspots are to be set up at universities, tourist destinations and public authorities in Bavaria by 2020 - 20,000 in total. This was announced by Bavarian Finance Minister Markus Söder (CSU). The hotspots, some of which are already installed and used ...

BayernWLAN: 20,000 WLAN hotspots created with Vodafone Read More »

Fax via VoIP & VDSL: Cisco SPA112 to Fritz!Box 7490

Anyone who wants to operate a hardware fax on a VoIP connection must either connect this directly to the Fritz!Box or use an adapter such as the Cisco SPA112. Operating an analog fax machine is not necessarily easy for customers with an "All-IP" connection (or whatever the respective provider calls the product). Analogue devices can be connected to the Fritz!Box ...

Fax via VoIP & VDSL: Cisco SPA112 to Fritz!Box 7490 Read More »

Using your own mobile phone in Australia with Telstra

Those who are planning a holiday in Australia and want to stay reachable or want to make cheap local calls can use a Telstra prepaid package. With the German mobile phone contract to call outside Europe can be very expensive very quickly: with Congstar, for example, the telephony minute costs 1.59 euros, if you are called even more. SMS and ...

Using your own mobile phone in Australia with Telstra Read More »

Merkel questions net neutrality

At a Vodafone conference, German Chancellor Merkel spoke out in favour of prioritising specialist services on the internet - and thus against net neutrality. Although the chancellor was referring to applications such as autonomous cars (for which it may well make sense that they have a functioning internet connection), preferential treatment of no matter which services would undermine the ...

Merkel questions net neutrality Read More »

Jammer against Internet price comparison in electronics stores?

Golem reports that an employee of an electronics store voiced in an RTL documentary that jammers are used so that customers can no longer easily compare store prices with Internet prices. Personally, I think that's a bold thesis: while some stores may not favor cell phone reception due to their design, true jammers would be too risky. The ...

Jammer against Internet price comparison in electronics stores? Read More »

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Schlagwort: Internet

Telekom-Nutzer zum Passwort-Wechsel aufgefordert

Im Darknet geistern anscheinend funktionierende Zugangsdaten von Telekom-Kunden umher. Kunden ruft der Bonner Konzern auf, ihre Passwörter zu ändern, verneint aber einen Server-Hack. Der Seitens der Telekom vermutete Ursprung der Daten sind Phishing-Angriffe – ein Angriff auf die Server soll nicht stattgefunden haben. In den Darknet-Daten sollen laut der Mitteilung

Weiterlesen >>

BayernWLAN: 20.000 WLAN-Hotspots entstehen mit Vodafone

Das BayernWLAN, in dem 20.000 Wifi-Access-Points im ganzen Bundesland verfügbar gemacht werden sollen, wird mit Hilfe von Vodafone weiter ausgebaut. In Bayern sollen bis 2020 WLAN-Hotspots an Hochschulen, Tourismuszielen und Behörden entstehen – insgesamt 20.000 Stück. Dies gab der bayerische Finanzminister Markus Söder (CSU) bekannt. Die Hotspots, die zum Teil

Weiterlesen >>

Fax via VoIP & VDSL: Cisco SPA112 an Fritz!Box 7490

Wer an einem VoIP-Anschluss ein Hardware-Fax betreiben will, muss dies entweder an der Fritz!Box direkt anschließen oder einen Adapter wie den Cisco SPA112 verwenden. Das Betreiben eines analogen Fax-Gerätes ist für Kunden mit einem „All-IP“-Anschluss (oder wie der jeweilige Anbieter das Produkt auch nennt) nicht unbedingt einfach. An die Fritz!Box

Weiterlesen >>

Das eigene Handy in Australien mit Telstra nutzen

Wer einen Urlaub in Australien plant, will dabei vielleicht auch erreichbar bleiben bzw. günstig vor Ort telefonieren will, kann zu einem Telstra-Prepaid-Paket greifen. Mit dem deutschen Handyvertrag ausserhalb von Europa zu telefonieren kann sehr schnell sehr teuer werden: bei Congstar zum Beispiel kostet die Telefonie-Minute 1,59 Euro, wird man angerufen

Weiterlesen >>

Merkel stellt Netzneutralität in Frage

Auf einer Vodafone-Konferenz hat sich Bundeskanzlerin Merkel für eine Bevorzugung von Spezialdiensten im Internet ausgesprochen – und damit gegen Netzneutralität. Zwar bezog sich die Kanzlerin dabei auf Anwendungen wie autonome Autos (bei denen es durchaus sinnvoll sein kann, dass sie über eine funktionierende Internet-Verbindung verfügen), dennoch würde die Bevorzugung egal

Weiterlesen >>

Raspberry Pi: Schnelleres Internet mit DNS-Caching

Zwar ist DNS-Auflösung ein Thema, über das sich die meisten wahrscheinlich keine Gedanken machen, dennoch hat der Vorgang, der aus einer Domain eine IP-Adresse auflöst einen erheblichen Anteil an der Geschwindigkeit beim Surfen. Etwas Linderung kann ein DNS-Cache auf einem Raspberry Pi bieten. Nachdem ich den Internet-Provider gewechselt habe und

Weiterlesen >>

Auch o2 will DSL drosseln

Nachdem die Telekom für ihren Drossel-Vorstoß schon viel Kritik geerntet hat, kündigt jetzt auch o2 an, dass man DSL und VDSL-Anschlüsse in Zukunft drosseln will. Allerdings sind die Grenzen etwas großzügiger bemessen: ab 300 GB, welche drei Monate hintereinander erreicht werden müssen (im ersten Monat 500 GB, im zweiten 250

Weiterlesen >>

Störsender gegen Internet-Preisvergleich in Elektronikmärkten?

Golem berichtet, dass ein Mitarbeiter eines Elektronikmarktes in einer RTL-Dokumentation geäußert hat, dass Störsender eingesetzt werden, damit Kunden nicht mehr so einfach die Ladenpreise mit Internetpreisen vergleichen können. Ich persönlich halte das für eine gewagte These: zwar mögen einige Läden aufgrund ihrer Bauweise den Handyempfang nicht gerade begünstigen, echte Störsender

Weiterlesen >>