Freenas

Freenas 8.2.0 turns into the home stretch: RC1 released

Who uses FreeNAS on a self-build NAS like me, can look forward to the imminent release of version 8.2.0, which brings especially the support for plugins. Pull-ups for minidlna will be dropped, it will be available directly as a plugin. Otherwise, FreeNAS 8.2 does not bring many major innovations, everything is brought to new software levels. …

Freenas 8.2.0 turns into the home stretch: RC1 released Read More »

FreeNAS 8.2.0 Beta 4: further bugfixing of the plugins

FreeNAS 8.2.0 introduces the ability to install plugins that run in their own environment ("plugin jail"). Since it is a completely new functionality, which also means deep interventions in the system, the development takes correspondingly longer. Now the fourth beta of the FreeBSD-based NAS software has been released, newly added is the possibility to update plugins ...

FreeNAS 8.2.0 Beta 4: further bugfixing of the plugins Read More »

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI performance

My HP-N36L-NAS serves not only as a data storage for photos, but also as a storage location for virtual disk images used by VirtualBox: on my surfing and work PC is simply not enough space thanks to SSD. Since the configuration of iSCSI is already described in the FreeNAS Wiki, here are just a few performance data of my setup: It is achieved with four Hitachi ...

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI performance Read More »

My HP N36L with FreeNAS 8.0.4

So that it is clear what kind of system my FreeNAS installation runs on. Small, quiet and sufficiently powerful: HP N36L Proliant Microserver (in the meantime there is the N40L, which brings a little more CPU clock). Besides FreeNAS as operating system, Windows Homeserver or vMWare ESXi would also work (both are officially supported by the device). Now I let the video for itself ...

My HP N36L with FreeNAS 8.0.4 Read More »

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update brings Samba 3.6.5

Freenas has been released in version 8.0.4-p2, so there is one more version before Freenas 8.2, which then brings plugin support. The update released yesterday fixes a security vulnerability in Samba (CVE-2012-2011) and brings the CIFS server to version 3.6.5. The update is easy to perform, just download the corresponding file from Sourceforge and install it via the Freenas interface. Who ...

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update brings Samba 3.6.5 Read More »

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 with new plugin structure

On April 19, the 3rd beta for FreeNAS 8.2 was released, which brings a new plugin structure. This should now remain stable, so that plugins can be used even after FreeNAS updates without adjustments. It is still not suitable for production systems, but if you want to write your own plugins, it is now time to take a closer look at it.

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 with new plugin structure Read More »

Freenas 8.2.x: beta, new features, plugin system

Freenas 8.2 is currently available in a second beta version and is expected to be released in May. The main change besides the change to FreeBSD 8.2 as a base is the support of plugins, so that various software (including minidlna for media support). An upgrade from an existing Freenas 8.0.4 installation should be possible without problems, from the use of the beta version ...

Freenas 8.2.x: beta, new features, plugin system Read More »

Freenas 8.0.x multimedia: Set up DLNA

Unlike Freenas 0.7.x, Freenas 8.0.x does not support DLNA. This has now changed with the "Multimedia" build. You can upgrade from regular Freenas to "Multimedia" without further ado (even if you used the same version before, e.g. from Freenas 8.0.3-p1 to 8.0.3-p1-Multimedia. Once this is done (i.e. a variant with multimedia support is running) DLNA must ...

Freenas 8.0.x multimedia: Set up DLNA Read More »

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Freenas

FreeNAS 8.2.0 Beta 4: weiteres Bugfixing an den Plugins

Mit FreeNAS 8.2.0 wird die Möglichkeit eingeführt, Plugins zu installieren, die in einer eigenen Umgebung laufen („plugin jail“). Da es eine komplett neue Funktionalität ist, die zudem tiefe Eingriffe in das System bedeutet, dauert die Entwicklung entsprechend länger. Nun ist die vierte Beta der FreeBSD-basierten NAS-Software erschienen, neu hinzugekommen ist die Möglichkeit, Plugins zu aktualisieren und das Plugin-„Gefängnis“ upzugraden. Als Plugin stehen Funktionen zur Verfügung, …

FreeNAS 8.2.0 Beta 4: weiteres Bugfixing an den Plugins Read More »

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI-Performance

Mein HP-N36L-NAS dient nicht nur als Datenspeicher für Fotos, sondern auch als Speicherort für Virtual-Disk-Images, die von VirtualBox verwendet werden: auf meinem Surf- und Arbeits-PC ist dank SSD einfach nicht genug Platz. Nachdem die Konfiguration von iSCSI im FreeNAS-Wiki schon beschrieben wird, hier nur ein paar Performance-Daten meines Setups: Erreicht wird es mit vier Hitachi 2-Terabyte-Festplatten mit 5.400rpm, welche mit ZFS als RAIDZ konfiguriert sind. …

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI-Performance Read More »

Mein HP N36L mit FreeNAS 8.0.4

Damit auch mal klar ist, auf was für einem System meine FreeNAS-Installation läuft. Klein, leise und ausreichend Leistungsstark: HP N36L Proliant Microserver (mittlerweile gibt es den N40L, der etwas mehr CPU-Takt bringt). Neben FreeNAS als Betriebssystem ginge auch Windows Homeserver oder vMWare ESXi (beides unterstützt das Gerät offiziell). Nun lasse ich das Video für sich selbst sprechen: Für FreeNAS 8.3.0 bietet sich der Nachfolger, der …

Mein HP N36L mit FreeNAS 8.0.4 Read More »

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update bringt Samba 3.6.5

Freenas ist in Version 8.0.4-p2 erschienen, damit gibt es eine weiter Version vor Freenas 8.2, welche dann Plugin-Support mitbringt. Das gestern erschienene Update behebt eine Sicherheitslücke in Samba (CVE-2012-2011) und bringt den CIFS-Server auf Version 3.6.5. Das Update ist einfach durchzuführen, es reicht die entsprechende Datei von Sourceforge herunterzuladen und über die Freenas-Oberfläche einzuspielen. Wer auf minidlna setzt und daher Freenas 8.0.4 Multimedia benutzt muss …

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update bringt Samba 3.6.5 Read More »

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 mit neuer Plugin-Struktur

Am 19. April ist die 3. Beta für FreeNAS 8.2 erschienen, die eine neue Plugin-Struktur mitbringt. Diese soll nun Stabil bleiben, sodass Plugins auch nach FreeNAS-Updates ohne Anpassungen weiter verwendet werden können. Für Produktivsysteme ist es immer noch nicht geeignet, wenn man aber eigene Plugins schreiben will, ist es nun langsam Zeit, es sich genauer anzuschauen. Fertige Plugins gibt es laut Releasenotes für Bittorrent, DLNA/uPNP …

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 mit neuer Plugin-Struktur Read More »

Freenas 8.2.x: Beta, neue Funktionen, Plugin-System

Freenas 8.2 liegt derzeit in einer zweiten Beta-Version vor und soll voraussichtlich im Mai final erscheinen. Wesentliche Änderung neben des wechsels auf FreeBSD 8.2 als Unterbau ist die Unterstützung von Plugins, sodass verschiedene Software (darunter auch minidlna für Medien-Support). Ein Upgrade von einer bestehenden Freenas 8.0.4-Installation soll problemlos möglich sein, von der Verwendung der Beta-Version auf einer produktiven Maschine mit Daten ist abzuraten. Ich habe …

Freenas 8.2.x: Beta, neue Funktionen, Plugin-System Read More »

Freenas 8.0.x Multimedia: DLNA einrichten

Im Gegensatz zu Freenas 0.7.x bringt Freenas 8.0.x bisher keinen DLNA-Spport. Dies hat sich jetzt zwar mit dem „Multimedia“-Build. Vom regulären Freenas kann ohne weiteres auf „Multimedia“ geupdatet werden (auch wenn vorher die gleiche Version eingesetzt wurde, z.B. von Freenas 8.0.3-p1 auf 8.0.3-p1-Multimedia. Wenn das geschafft ist (also eine Variante mit Multimedia-Support läuft) muss DLNA nur noch aktiviert werden – eingesetzt wird minidlna. Zuerst muss …

Freenas 8.0.x Multimedia: DLNA einrichten Read More »

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol de_DEDeutsch
Nach oben blättern