Server

SEO: the most important keywords on kadder.de

Of course, as a blog owner you want your own page to be visited by as many readers as possible. Basic means for this: search engine optimization, SEO for short. It is important to know the keywords with which the own page is found. Google Analytics, which is used on this page with the overview of the search queries, helps here. The keywords for kadder.de of the ...

SEO: the most important keywords on kadder.de Read More »

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI performance

My HP-N36L-NAS serves not only as a data storage for photos, but also as a storage location for virtual disk images used by VirtualBox: on my surfing and work PC is simply not enough space thanks to SSD. Since the configuration of iSCSI is already described in the FreeNAS Wiki, here are just a few performance data of my setup: It is achieved with four Hitachi ...

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI performance Read More »

My HP N36L with FreeNAS 8.0.4

So that it is clear what kind of system my FreeNAS installation runs on. Small, quiet and sufficiently powerful: HP N36L Proliant Microserver (in the meantime there is the N40L, which brings a little more CPU clock). Besides FreeNAS as operating system, Windows Homeserver or vMWare ESXi would also work (both are officially supported by the device). Now I let the video for itself ...

My HP N36L with FreeNAS 8.0.4 Read More »

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update brings Samba 3.6.5

Freenas has been released in version 8.0.4-p2, so there is one more version before Freenas 8.2, which then brings plugin support. The update released yesterday fixes a security vulnerability in Samba (CVE-2012-2011) and brings the CIFS server to version 3.6.5. The update is easy to perform, just download the corresponding file from Sourceforge and install it via the Freenas interface. Who ...

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update brings Samba 3.6.5 Read More »

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 with new plugin structure

On April 19, the 3rd beta for FreeNAS 8.2 was released, which brings a new plugin structure. This should now remain stable, so that plugins can be used even after FreeNAS updates without adjustments. It is still not suitable for production systems, but if you want to write your own plugins, it is now time to take a closer look at it.

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 with new plugin structure Read More »

Freenas 8.2.x: beta, new features, plugin system

Freenas 8.2 is currently available in a second beta version and is expected to be released in May. The main change besides the change to FreeBSD 8.2 as a base is the support of plugins, so that various software (including minidlna for media support). An upgrade from an existing Freenas 8.0.4 installation should be possible without problems, from the use of the beta version ...

Freenas 8.2.x: beta, new features, plugin system Read More »

Freenas 8.0.x multimedia: Set up DLNA

Unlike Freenas 0.7.x, Freenas 8.0.x does not support DLNA. This has now changed with the "Multimedia" build. You can upgrade from regular Freenas to "Multimedia" without further ado (even if you used the same version before, e.g. from Freenas 8.0.3-p1 to 8.0.3-p1-Multimedia. Once this is done (i.e. a variant with multimedia support is running) DLNA must ...

Freenas 8.0.x multimedia: Set up DLNA Read More »

Nginx: Activate GZIP

To speed up the data transfer and to minimize the data transfer GZIP should be enabled for JavaScript, CSS and HTML files. By default Gzip is not enabled for all relevant mimetypes, so this should be done in nginx.conf (add in http section): gzip on; gzip_disable "MSIE [1-6]\.(?!.*SV1)"; gzip_proxied any; gzip_buffers 16 8k; gzip_types text/plain text/html text/css text/xml ...

Nginx: Activate GZIP Read More »

nginx + PHP under Debian (+ W3TC)

nginx is a fast web server that can also be used as a reverse proxy or for streaming Flash videos. Originally developed for the requirements of a Russian search engine, more and more web projects also rely on nginx. Unlike the well-known Apache web server, the configuration of nginx under Debian is not quite as simple - you still have to download files from ...

nginx + PHP under Debian (+ W3TC) Read More »

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Server

SEO: die wichtigsten Keywords auf kadder.de

Natürlich will man als Blog-Betreiber, dass die eigene Seite von möglichst vielen Lesern besucht wird. Grundlegendes Mittel dazu: Suchmaschinenoptimierung, kurz SEO. Dabei ist es wichtig, die Keywords, mit denen die eigene Seite gefunde wird. Dabei hilft Google Analytics, welches auf dieser Seite eingesetzt wird mit der Übersicht über die Suchanfragen. Die Keywords für kadder.de der …

SEO: die wichtigsten Keywords auf kadder.de Read More »

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI-Performance

Mein HP-N36L-NAS dient nicht nur als Datenspeicher für Fotos, sondern auch als Speicherort für Virtual-Disk-Images, die von VirtualBox verwendet werden: auf meinem Surf- und Arbeits-PC ist dank SSD einfach nicht genug Platz. Nachdem die Konfiguration von iSCSI im FreeNAS-Wiki schon beschrieben wird, hier nur ein paar Performance-Daten meines Setups: Erreicht wird es mit vier Hitachi …

FreeNAS 8.0.4 iSCSI-Performance Read More »

Mein HP N36L mit FreeNAS 8.0.4

Damit auch mal klar ist, auf was für einem System meine FreeNAS-Installation läuft. Klein, leise und ausreichend Leistungsstark: HP N36L Proliant Microserver (mittlerweile gibt es den N40L, der etwas mehr CPU-Takt bringt). Neben FreeNAS als Betriebssystem ginge auch Windows Homeserver oder vMWare ESXi (beides unterstützt das Gerät offiziell). Nun lasse ich das Video für sich …

Mein HP N36L mit FreeNAS 8.0.4 Read More »

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update bringt Samba 3.6.5

Freenas ist in Version 8.0.4-p2 erschienen, damit gibt es eine weiter Version vor Freenas 8.2, welche dann Plugin-Support mitbringt. Das gestern erschienene Update behebt eine Sicherheitslücke in Samba (CVE-2012-2011) und bringt den CIFS-Server auf Version 3.6.5. Das Update ist einfach durchzuführen, es reicht die entsprechende Datei von Sourceforge herunterzuladen und über die Freenas-Oberfläche einzuspielen. Wer …

Freenas 8.0.4-p2: Update bringt Samba 3.6.5 Read More »

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 mit neuer Plugin-Struktur

Am 19. April ist die 3. Beta für FreeNAS 8.2 erschienen, die eine neue Plugin-Struktur mitbringt. Diese soll nun Stabil bleiben, sodass Plugins auch nach FreeNAS-Updates ohne Anpassungen weiter verwendet werden können. Für Produktivsysteme ist es immer noch nicht geeignet, wenn man aber eigene Plugins schreiben will, ist es nun langsam Zeit, es sich genauer …

Freenas 8.2 Beta 3 mit neuer Plugin-Struktur Read More »

Freenas 8.2.x: Beta, neue Funktionen, Plugin-System

Freenas 8.2 liegt derzeit in einer zweiten Beta-Version vor und soll voraussichtlich im Mai final erscheinen. Wesentliche Änderung neben des wechsels auf FreeBSD 8.2 als Unterbau ist die Unterstützung von Plugins, sodass verschiedene Software (darunter auch minidlna für Medien-Support). Ein Upgrade von einer bestehenden Freenas 8.0.4-Installation soll problemlos möglich sein, von der Verwendung der Beta-Version …

Freenas 8.2.x: Beta, neue Funktionen, Plugin-System Read More »

Freenas 8.0.x Multimedia: DLNA einrichten

Im Gegensatz zu Freenas 0.7.x bringt Freenas 8.0.x bisher keinen DLNA-Spport. Dies hat sich jetzt zwar mit dem „Multimedia“-Build. Vom regulären Freenas kann ohne weiteres auf „Multimedia“ geupdatet werden (auch wenn vorher die gleiche Version eingesetzt wurde, z.B. von Freenas 8.0.3-p1 auf 8.0.3-p1-Multimedia. Wenn das geschafft ist (also eine Variante mit Multimedia-Support läuft) muss DLNA …

Freenas 8.0.x Multimedia: DLNA einrichten Read More »

nginx: Expires für Bilder

Nachdem ich erst versucht habe, nginx dazu zu überreden, nur Bilder über einen entsprechenden „location“-Block mit einem expires-Header zu versehen. Das hat leider nicht geklappt (Ergebnis: Bilder wurden nicht mehr gefunden). Lösung: für die globale location entsprechend gesetzt greifen die expires-Header (jetzt bei mir auf 8d gestellt). location / { root /var/www; try_files $uri $uri/ …

nginx: Expires für Bilder Read More »

Nginx: GZIP aktivieren

Um die Datenübertragung zu beschleunigen und den Datentransfer zu minimieren sollte GZIP für JavaScript, CSS und HTML-Dateien aktiviert werden. Per default ist Gzip nicht für alle relevanten Mimetypes aktiviert, sodass dies in der nginx.conf nachgeholt werden sollte (im http-Bereich hinzufügen): gzip on; gzip_disable „MSIE [1-6]\.(?!.*SV1)“; gzip_proxied any; gzip_buffers 16 8k; gzip_types text/plain text/html text/css text/xml …

Nginx: GZIP aktivieren Read More »

nginx + PHP unter Debian (+ W3TC)

nginx ist ein schneller Webserver, der sich auch als Reverse Proxy oder zum Streaming von Flash-Videos einsetzen lässt. Ursprünglich entwickelt für die Anforderungen einer russischen Suchmaschine setzen auch immer mehr Webprojekte auf nginx. Anders als beim bekannten Apache-Webserver ist die Konfiguration von nginx unter Debian nicht ganz so simpel – es müssen noch Dateien von …

nginx + PHP unter Debian (+ W3TC) Read More »

de_DEDeutsch
Nach oben blättern