Server

FreeNAS 11.2: new web interface & new features

After FreeNAS 10 "Corral" was a first - quickly failing - attempt to introduce a new user interface, there is now a new, AngularJS based UI with FreeNAS 11.2. This is also mobile optimized. Apart from the web interface, there are a number of new features for FreeNAS 11.2 that logically continue and extend the previous development. The most important changes: …

FreeNAS 11.2: new web interface & new features Read More »

Freenas 11.1: use the integrated OpenVPN client

For some time now, I have been using two FreeNAS boxes at two locations to back up my data using ZFS snapshots and replication. This connection should also be secured using OpenVPN. The idea: one Raspberry Pi at each location, connected via OpenVPN, and corresponding static routes so that the two FreeNAS boxes can reach each other. Basis for this ...

Freenas 11.1: use the integrated OpenVPN client Read More »

Nginx: Do not save IP address in log files

Those who want to store as little data as possible for data protection reasons - DSGVO is the keyword - can define an appropriate log file format. This anonymizes both IPv4 and IPv6 addresses. Unfortunately, no new format can be defined for the error logs - however, a legitimate interest for smooth operation can be assumed here even with a sufficiently short storage period. The ...

Nginx: Do not save IP address in log files Read More »

RASPBERRY PI 3 MODEL B+ (Picture: Raspberry Foundation)

Raspberry Pi 3B+: Gigabit-LAN and 200 MHz more clock

The Raspberry Foundation has presented a revision of the Raspberry 3: the model 3B+. More clock and better network connectivity are the main features. The format has remained the same, existing projects with a Raspberry Pi can easily be upgraded to the new model - as long as the clock rate, which is higher with the new model even under continuous load, is ...

Raspberry Pi 3B+: Gigabit-LAN and 200 MHz more clock Read More »

FreeNAS 11.1 released

The FreeBSD-based NAS system FreeNAS has been released in the new version 11.1, which brings several innovations. The changes in the changelog concern OpenZFS, which is supposed to be faster especially when processing snapshots and large files. In addition, the hardware support has been improved and functions for cloud sync with Amazon S3, Microsoft Azure Blob Storage, ...

FreeNAS 11.1 released Read More »

Pi-Hole Admin Panel

FreeNAS: Pi-Hole & PiVPN in Ubuntu VM

If you use FreeNAS 11 as NAS or home server software, you can use pi-hole as well as pi-vpn and access your own network as well as block advertisements reliably. PiVPN (http://www.pivpn.io/) is an installation and management script for OpenVPN. Originally intended for use on a Raspberry Pi, the installation also works without problems on an Ubuntu 17.04, which is installed in ...

FreeNAS: Pi-Hole & PiVPN in Ubuntu VM Read More »

FreeNAS: Mount 9p Volume/Dataset in VM

Who uses FreeNAS with virtual machines (I have e.g. the development environment for the blog theme in an Ubuntu VM) will sooner or later want to use data of the NAS. FreeNAS offers VT9P as an option here. The Plan9 filesystem requires a few mount options that are not standard. Although it can be mounted in the console without further ado, as soon as ...

FreeNAS: Mount 9p Volume/Dataset in VM Read More »

FreeNAS: .AppleDouble / .DS_Store delete

When using a FreeNAS share with macOS, it creates different Finder metadata directories for each regular directory. To keep a backup to external media as lean as possible, this data can be deleted, which is most easily done using a command at the Linux command prompt: find . -name ".Apple*" -type d -prune -exec rm -r {} + So that ...

FreeNAS: .AppleDouble / .DS_Store delete Read More »

FreeNAS 10: "Corral" released

After several years of development, version 10 of FreeNAS is now released, name: "Corral". iXsystems has released FreeNAS 10 "Corral", a new version of the popular operating system for DIY NAS systems. The user interface has been completely redesigned and is now much more modern, the substructure has also been modernized. Instead of relying on plug-in extensions as before, there are ...

FreeNAS 10: "Corral" released Read More »

HP Microserver Gen8: CPU exchange

Those who buy an HP Microserver Gen8 usually go for the entry-level model with a Celeron G1610T processor. Since the CPU is socketed, it can be easily replaced. The Celeron G1610T is a dual-core CPU with a clock speed of 2.3 GHz and a TDP of 35 watts - therefore it can be cooled passively without any problems. It is important to choose a suitable CPU ...

HP Microserver Gen8: CPU exchange Read More »

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Server

Freenas 11.1: integrierten OpenVPN-Client nutzen

Seit einiger Zeit benutze ich zwei FreeNAS-Boxen an zwei Standorten, um meine Daten mittels ZFS-Snapshots und Replication zu sichern. Diese Verbindung soll zusätzlich mittels OpenVPN abgesichert werden. Die Idee: an beiden Standorten jeweils ein Raspberry Pi, die miteinander über OpenVPN verbunden sind, dazu entsprechenden statische Routen, damit sich die beiden FreeNAS-Boxen erreichen können. Grundlage dafür …

Freenas 11.1: integrierten OpenVPN-Client nutzen Read More »

Nginx: IP-Adresse nicht in Log-Files speichern

Wer aus Datenschutzgründen – DSGVO ist das Stichwort – möglichst wenige Daten speichern will, kann ein entsprechendes Logfile-Format definieren. Damit werden sowohl IPv4- als auch IPv6-Adressen anonymisiert. Für die Error-Logs lässt sich leider kein neues Format definieren – hier kann man jedoch auch bei ausreichend kurzer Speicherfrist ein berechtigtes Interesse zum reibungslosen Betrieb annehmen. Die …

Nginx: IP-Adresse nicht in Log-Files speichern Read More »

RASPBERRY PI 3 MODEL B+ (Bild: Raspberry Foundation)

Raspberry Pi 3B+: Gigabit-LAN und 200 MHz mehr Takt

Die Raspberry Foundation hat eine Überarbeitung des Raspberry 3 vorgestellt: das Modell 3B+. Mehr Takt und bessere Netzwerk-Anbindung sind die wesentlichen Merkmale. Das Format ist das selbe geblieben, bestehende Projekte mit einem Raspberry Pi können einfach auf das neue Modell geupgraded werden – sofern der Takt, der beim neuen Modell auch unter Dauerlast höher ausfallen …

Raspberry Pi 3B+: Gigabit-LAN und 200 MHz mehr Takt Read More »

FreeNAS 11.1 erschienen

Das auf FreeBSD basierende NAS-System FreeNAS ist in der neuen Version 11.1 erschienen, die etliche Neuerungen mit sich bringt. Die Änderungen im Changelog betreffen OpenZFS, welches vor allem beim verarbeiten von Snapshots und großen Dateien schneller geworden sein soll. Außerdem wurde der Hardware-Support verbessert sowie Funktionen zum Cloud-Sync mit Amazon S3, Microsoft Azure Blob Storage, …

FreeNAS 11.1 erschienen Read More »

Pi-Hole Admin-Panel

FreeNAS: Pi-Hole & PiVPN in Ubuntu-VM

Wer FreeNAS 11 als NAS- bzw. Homeserver-Software verwendet, kann pi-hole sowie pi-vpn verwenden und sowohl auf das eigene Netzwerk zugreifen als auch Werbung zuverlässig blockieren. PiVPN (http://www.pivpn.io/) ist ein Installations- und Verwaltungsscript für OpenVPN. Eigentlich gedacht für die Verwendung auf einem Raspberry Pi, funktioniert die Installation auch ohne Probleme auf einem Ubuntu 17.04, welches in …

FreeNAS: Pi-Hole & PiVPN in Ubuntu-VM Read More »

FreeNAS: 9p Volume/Dataset in VM mounten

Wer FreeNAS mit virtuellen Maschinen nutzt (ich habe z.B. die Entwicklungsumgebung für das Blog-Theme in einer Ubuntu-VM) wird früher oder später Daten des NAS nutzen wollen. FreeNAS bietet hier VT9P als Möglichkeit an. Das Plan9-Filesystem benötigt ein paar mount-Optionen, die nicht dem Standard entsprechen. Zwar lässt es sich in der Console ohne weiteres mounten, sobald …

FreeNAS: 9p Volume/Dataset in VM mounten Read More »

FreeNAS: .AppleDouble / .DS_Store löschen

Wenn man eine FreeNAS-Freigabe mit macOS benutzt, legt dieses verschiedene Finder-Metadaten-Verzeichnisse für jedes reguläre Verzeichnis an. Um ein Backup auf ein externes Medium möglichst schlank zu halten, können diese Daten gelöscht werden, was am leichtesten mittels eines Kommandos auf der Linux-Eingabeaufforderung geht: find . -name „.Apple*“ -type d -prune -exec rm -r {} + Damit …

FreeNAS: .AppleDouble / .DS_Store löschen Read More »

FreeNAS 10: „Corral“ erschienen

Nach mehrjähriger Entwicklung ist nun die Version 10 von FreeNAS erschienen, Name: „Corral“. iXsystems hat mit FreeNAS 10 „Corral“ eine neue Version des beliebten Betriebssystem für Selbstbau-NAS-Systeme veröffentlicht. Die Oberfläche wurde komplett überarbeitet und kommt jetzt deutlich moderner daher, der Unterbau ist ebenfalls modernisiert worden. Statt wie bisher auf Erweiterungen durch Plugins zu setzen, gibt …

FreeNAS 10: „Corral“ erschienen Read More »

HP Microserver Gen8: CPU-Tausch

Wer einen HP Microserver Gen8 kauft, setzt meist auf das Einstiegsmodell mit Celeron G1610T-Prozessor. Da die CPU gesockelt ist, kann sie einfach ausgetauscht werden. Der Celeron G1610T ist eine Dualcore-CPU mit 2,3 GHz Takt und einer TDP von 35 Watt – daher lässt sie sich ohne Problem passiv kühlen. Wichtig ist es, eine passende CPU …

HP Microserver Gen8: CPU-Tausch Read More »

Let’s encrypt: Fallstricke bei Domainwechsel

Vor einiger Zeit habe ich die Domain meines Blogs gewechselt – von www.kadder.de auf www.techblogger.net. Dabei gab es einen Fallstrick durch die Verwendung von Let’s encrypt. Der Ansatz: beim Wechsel der Domain soll natürlich von der alten Domain auf die neue weitergeleitet werden. Das Problem: läuft das Zertifikat der alten Domain ab, führen SSL-Aufrufe zu …

Let’s encrypt: Fallstricke bei Domainwechsel Read More »

de_DEDeutsch
Nach oben blättern