FreeNAS: Pi-Hole & PiVPN in Ubuntu VM

If you use FreeNAS 11 as NAS or home server software, you can use pi-hole as well as pi-vpn to access your own network and reliably block advertising.

PiVPN (http://www.pivpn.io/) is an installation and administration script for OpenVPN. Originally intended for use on a Raspberry Pi, the installation also works without problems on an Ubuntu 17.04 running in a bhyve-VM. The procedure is the same as for the "handicraft computer":

curl -L https://install.pivpn.io | bash

The installation script complains that the used Linux version might not be compatible and refuses the automatic configuration of some things, but in the end everything works fine. Important: for the VPN connection to work, the Ubuntu firewall "ufw" (uncomplicated firewall - a command line tool for easy configuration of iptables rules) must be installed and the corresponding port must be enabled.

OpenVPN: UDP or TCP?

OpenVPN connection iPhone7
OpenVPN connection iPhone7
During the installation PiVPN asks whether UDP or TCP should be used as protocol. TCP is a bit slower due to error correction, but has a decisive advantage: configured on port 443 (normally intended for HTTPS) it works in most environments, whereas UDP is blocked in many networks. I have therefore decided to use TCP.

Once PiVPN is completely set up so that Raspberry Pi functions as a VPN server (connection to the home network and the Internet), you can start installing and configuring Pi-Hole.

Pi-Hole: the black hole for advertising

Pi-Hole (https://pi-hole.net/) blocks access to hosts that are related to advertising or tracking on a DNS basis. Corresponding requests therefore do not leave the network at all, but are blocked by the DNS server.

The setup is also simple here, using

curl -sSL https://install.pi-hole.net | bash

the installation is started, after that, under http://IP-Adresse-des-Servers/admin the Pi-Hole administration interface is available, the password from the installation is also required.

To use pi-hole, the pi-hole server must be entered as DNS for the clients on which advertising is to be blocked. As soon as this is done, all requests to tracking or advertising servers are prevented, even in applications outside the browser. For example, no advertising will be displayed in Skype anymore.

Pi-Hole works differently from classic ad blockers like uBlock, but can use the same filter lists. Unfortunately the format of the lists is different, so that a conversion has to take place: under https://wally3k.github.io/ you will find various AdBlocker filter lists that have already been converted to a format compatible with Pi-Hole.

Long-term experience: a good 7 - 10 percent of all requests blocked

Pi-Hole Admin Panel
Pi-Hole Admin Panel

If you use the setup with Pi-Hole for a while for normal surfing with multiple devices (in my case a PC, a Macbook as well as an iPhone runs on the Pi-Hole server), you get an idea in the statistics how many requests are used for advertising and tracking only: after a good week the rate has settled down at a good 7 - 10 percent.

There have been no side effects so far: once a request is blocked, which was useful, the domain can be whitelisted via the Pi-Hole-Interface. The base with a FreeNAS server (in my case a HP Microserver Gen8 with 16 GiB RAM and a Core i5 processor) also provides enough power to allow both an OpenVPN connection and filtering with 117,000 domains in the block list.

If you combine Pi-Hole with a classic adblocker (in my case uBlock), even the white areas of web pages disappear: Pi-Hole prevents the request, uBlock removes the placeholders.

Remember: Websites are financed by advertising

However, one should consider that many offers are financed by advertising and can only manage without a paywall in this way. Although advertising is often annoying, consistent blocking does not immediately lead to less advertising.

Update 03/16/2019: no improvement

There hasn't really been any improvement since the original setup, especially with Adblocker disabled in the browser, the number of blocked DNS requests is alarmingly high: more than 20% of DNS requests are from hosts that are included in the ad block lists.

Pihole statistics without Adblocker
Pihole statistics without Adblocker

The advantage of Pihole is still that you don't need a plugin in your browser and you can also use it on iPad and smartphone (and in apps, because at least for Safari there are iOS-Adblocker since iOS 9). Even better, of course, would be if these measures were not necessary in the first place - I personally don't mind getting the most appropriate ads, but the ads themselves should load quickly and not make up a felt part of the respective page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

FreeNAS: Pi-Hole & PiVPN in Ubuntu-VM

Wer FreeNAS 11 als NAS- bzw. Homeserver-Software verwendet, kann pi-hole sowie pi-vpn verwenden und sowohl auf das eigene Netzwerk zugreifen als auch Werbung zuverlässig blockieren.

PiVPN (http://www.pivpn.io/) ist ein Installations- und Verwaltungsscript für OpenVPN. Eigentlich gedacht für die Verwendung auf einem Raspberry Pi, funktioniert die Installation auch ohne Probleme auf einem Ubuntu 17.04, welches in einer bhyve-VM läuft. Der Ablauf ist der selbe wie beim „Bastelrechner“:

curl -L https://install.pivpn.io | bash

Das Installationsscript beschwert sich zwar, dass die verwendete Linux-Version gegebenenfalls nicht kompatibel ist und verweigert das automatische konfigurieren von einigen Dingen, am Ende läuft aber alles soweit problemlos durch. Wichtig: damit das deutleiten der VPN-Verbindung klappt, muss unter Ubuntu die Firewall „ufw“ (uncomplicated firewall – ein Commandozeilen-Tool für das einfache Einstellen von iptables-Regeln) installiert sein und der entsprechende Port freigegeben sein.

OpenVPN: UDP oder TCP?

OpenVPN-Verbindung iPhone7
OpenVPN-Verbindung iPhone7
Während der Installation fragt PiVPN, ob UDP oder TCP als Protokoll verwendet werden soll. TCP ist aufgrund der Fehlerkorrektur etwas langsamer, bietet aber einen entscheidenden Vorteil: konfiguriert auf Port 443 (normalerweise für HTTPS vorgesehen) funktioniert es in den meisten Umgebungen, wogegen UDP in vielen Netzwerken gesperrt ist. Ich habe mich daher für TCP entschieden.

Ist PiVPN soweit komplett eingerichtet, dass der Raspberry Pi als VPN-Server funktioniert (Verbindung in das heimische Netzwerk sowie das Internet), kann man sich an die Installation und Konfiguration von Pi-Hole machen.

Pi-Hole: das schwarze Loch für Werbung

Pi-Hole (https://pi-hole.net/) blockt den Zugriff auf Hosts, die in Zusammenhang mit Werbung bzw. Tracking stehen, auf DNS-Basis. Entsprechende Requests verlassen also das Netzwerk gar nicht erst, sondern werden vom DNS-Server geblockt.

Das Setup ist auch hier einfach, mittels

curl -sSL https://install.pi-hole.net | bash

wird die Installation gestartet, danach ist unter http://IP-Adresse-des-Servers/admin die Pi-Hole-Administrationsoberfläche verfügbar, benötigt wird auch das Passwort aus der Installation.

Um Pi-Hole zu nutzen muss bei den Clients, auf denen Werbung geblockt werden soll, der Pi-Hole-Server als DNS eingetragen werden. Sobald das geschehen ist, werden alle Anfragen an Tracking- bzw. Werbeserver verhindert, auch in Anwendungen abseits des Browsers. So wird zum Beispiel keine Werbung mehr in Skype dargestellt.

Pi-Hole arbeitet zwar anders als klassische Werbeblocker wie uBlock, kann aber die selben Filterlisten verwenden. Leider ist das Format der Listen unterschiedlich, sodass eine Umwandlung stattfinden muss: unter https://wally3k.github.io/ findet man verschiedene AdBlocker-Filterlisten, die bereits in ein für Pi-Hole kompatibles Format umgewandelt wurden.

Langzeit-Erfahrungen: gut 7 – 10 Prozent aller Requests geblockt

Pi-Hole Admin-Panel
Pi-Hole Admin-Panel

Verwendet man das Setup mit Pi-Hole eine Zeitlang für normales Surfen mit mehreren Geräten (in meinem Fall läuft ein PC, ein Macbook sowie ein iPhone über den Pi-Hole-Server), bekommt man in den Statistiken eine Ahnung davon, wie viele Anfragen nur für Werbung und Tracking verwendet werden: nach gut einer Woche hat sich die Quote bei gut 7 – 10 Prozent einpendelt.

Nebenwirkungen sind bisher keine Aufgetreten: wir einmal ein Request geblockt, der doch sinnvoll war, kann man die entsprechende Domain über das Pi-Hole-Interface auf eine Whitelist setzen. Der Unterbau mit einem FreeNAS-Server (in meinem Fall ein HP Microserver Gen8 mit 16 GiB RAM sowie einem Core i5-Prozessor) liefert auch genug Leistung, um sowohl eine OpenVPN-Verbindung als auch das Filtern mit 117.000 Domains in der Blockliste zu ermöglichen.

Kombiniert man Pi-Hole mit einem klassischen Adblocker (in meinem Fall uBlock), verschwinden auch die weißen Flächen von Webseiten: Pi-Hole verhindert die Anfrage, uBlock entfernt die Platzhalter.

Zu bedenken: Webseiten sind Werbefinanziert

Bedenken sollte man allerdings, dass viele Angebote Werbefinanziert sind und nur so ohne Paywall auskommen können. Zwar nervt Werbung häufig, aber konsequentes Blocken führt nicht sofort zu weniger Werbung.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Name *