Smartphones

Google stops Nexus One direct sales in the USA

In Germany, Google only offered the Nexus One via partners, but this was different in the US: Here, the device could also be purchased directly from Google without a contract and without having to rely on a network provider. This possibility has apparently used mainly "early adopters", the sales figures are according to Google overall behind the expectations ...

Google stops Nexus One direct sales in the USA Read More »

Android runs on Iphone 3G

The same resourceful programmer who already got Android running on the Iphone 2G has now managed to do the same on the newer 3G model (not 3GS). A video shows that after selecting Android in the post-installed boot manager, the Google operating system starts. Drivers are available for almost everything except sound. You can call someone, but ...

Android runs on Iphone 3G Read More »

Smartphone manufacturers not able to offer Android updates?

Apparently, the smartphone manufacturers are not willing or able to offer updates for their devices, even if there are already new Android versions that would be runnable. Otherwise it cannot be explained that still over 60% of all Android devices are running Android 1.5 or 1.6 - 2.1 is the current version, which as a modified version also ...

Smartphone manufacturers not able to offer Android updates? Read More »

Android runs on Iphone thanks to iDroid

By means of a special bootloader, a resourceful programmer has managed to run Google's Android operating system on the original Iphone 2G. The most important functions are even usable, it is possible to make phone calls, send and receive SMS and generally operate the display. Due to the lack of buttons, the volume buttons had to come in to replace them. Android seems to ...

Android runs on Iphone thanks to iDroid Read More »

First Android 2.2 mobile phone: Dell Flash

Dell is apparently preparing an Android 2.2 smartphone, which is supposed to be launched under the title "Flash". The technical specs read promising: 800 MHz Qualcomm processor, 5 megapixel camera and an 11 millimeter thin case. Android 2.2 (codename "Froyo" - Frozen Yogourt) will be based on the Linux kernel 2.6.32 and thus consume less memory. In addition, ...

First Android 2.2 mobile phone: Dell Flash Read More »

Lenovo attacks the smartphone market with "LePhone

Lenovo, the 4th largest PC manufacturer in the world, now wants to attack the smartphone market again. This should first happen in China with the "LePhone" (derived from Lenovo, but it also sounds a bit French), later it should also come to other markets. The concept of the device is quite interesting: the phone itself has no keyboard, but this can be ...

Lenovo attacks the smartphone market with "LePhone Read More »

pre-order Motorola Backflip for 440,- Euro at Amazon

The Motorola Backflip may follow an interesting design, for 440,-€ you can pre-order it now at Amazon - a proud price for a device that has an interesting control concept with a touch surface on the back of the display, but still comes with Android 1.5. Why mobile phone manufacturers have such a hard time introducing new ...

pre-order Motorola Backflip for 440,- Euro at Amazon Read More »

Samsung I9000 Galaxy S: new high-end Android mobile phone

With the I9000 Galaxy S, Samsung moves in the range of the Nexus One: 1 GHz CPU, 4″ Super AMOLED display, 16 or 32 GB storage, Android 2.1 with its own interface. The whole thing packed in a 9.9 millimeter thick case. Samsung apparently wants to show that it is also capable of building a real high-end device, ...

Samsung I9000 Galaxy S: new high-end Android mobile phone Read More »

Nexus One still not (officially) available in Germany

In January, there was still a rumor that the Nexus One would be available at Vodafone for €149.00 including contract starting in February. Apparently, that did not work out, neither the Vodafone nor the Google site give a hint when the Nexus One will be available in Germany. However, free retailers offer the device, the price ...

Nexus One still not (officially) available in Germany Read More »

Motorola Devour: another Android phone with keyboard

Motorola has apparently realized that the Milestone/Droid is also so popular because of the full keyboard: with the Devour now comes another device that offers a full keypad - and looks even better. It also comes with the Motoblur interface for Android, which displays status updates from social networks like Facebook right on the homescreen. The display ...

Motorola Devour: another Android phone with keyboard Read More »

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Smartphones

Google stoppt Nexus One Direktvertrieb in den USA

In Deutschland hat Google das Nexus One gleich nur über Partner angeboten, in den USA war dies anders: Hier konnte man das Gerät auch ohne Vertrag direkt von Google beziehen, ohne auf einen Netzbetreiber angewiesen zu sein. Diese Möglichkeit haben anscheinend vor allem „Early Adopter“ genutzt, die Verkaufszahlen sind laut Google insgesamt hinter den Erwartungen …

Google stoppt Nexus One Direktvertrieb in den USA Read More »

Android läuft auf Iphone 3G

Der selbe findige Programmierer, der bereits Android auf dem Iphone 2G ans laufen bekommen hat, hat dies nun auch auf dem neueren 3G-Modell (nicht 3GS) geschafft. Ein Video zeigt, dass nach Auswahl von Android im nachinstallierten Bootmanager das Google-Betriebssystem startet. Treiber sind für fast alles vorhanden, abgesehen vom Sound. Man kann zwar jemanden anrufen, aber …

Android läuft auf Iphone 3G Read More »

Smartphone-Hersteller nicht in der Lage, Android-Updates anzubieten?

Anscheinend sind die Smartphone-Hersteller nicht willens oder in der Lage, Updates für ihre Geräte anzubieten, auch wenn es bereits neue Android-Versionen gibt, die lauffähig wären. Anders lässt es sich nicht erklären, dass immer noch über 60% aller Android-Geräte mit Android 1.5 bzw. 1.6 arbeiten – 2.1 ist die aktuelle Version, die als modifizierte Version auch …

Smartphone-Hersteller nicht in der Lage, Android-Updates anzubieten? Read More »

Android läuft auf Iphone dank iDroid

Mittels eines speziellen Bootloader hat es ein findiger Programmierer geschafft, Googles Android-Betriebssystem auf dem originalen Iphone 2G laufen zu lassen. Die wichtigsten Funktionen sind sogar benutzbar, es lassen sich Telefonate führen, SMS senden und empfangen und allgemein das Display bedienen. Aufgrund des Mangels an Buttons mussten die Lautstärke-Buttons herhalten, um diese zu ersetzen. Android scheint …

Android läuft auf Iphone dank iDroid Read More »

Erstes Android 2.2-Handy: Dell Flash

Dell bereitet anscheinend ein Android-2.2-Smartphone vor, unter dem Titel „Flash“ soll es auf den Markt kommen. Die technischen Daten lesen sich vielversprechend: 800 MHz Qualcomm-Prozessor, 5 Megapixel Kamera und ein 11 Millimeter dünnes Gehäuse. Android 2.2 (Codename „Froyo“ – Frozen Yogourt) wird auf dem Linux Kernel 2.6.32 basieren und damit weniger speicher verbrauchen. Außerdem ist …

Erstes Android 2.2-Handy: Dell Flash Read More »

Lenovo greift mit "LePhone" auf dem Smartphone-Markt an

Lenovo, 4. größter PC-Hersteller weltweit, wil nun wieder auf dem Smartphone-Markt angreifen. Dies soll zuerst in China mit dem „LePhone“ (abgeleitet von Lenovo, allerdings klingt es auch ein wenig französisch) passieren, später soll es auch auf anderen Märkten kommen. Das Gerät ist vom Konzept durchaus interessant: das Handy selbst hat keine Tastatur, diese kann aber …

Lenovo greift mit "LePhone" auf dem Smartphone-Markt an Read More »

Motorola Backflip für 440,- Euro bei Amazon vorbestellen

Das Motorola Backflip mag ein interessantes Design verfolgen, für 440,-€ kann man es jetzt bei Amazon vorbestellen – ein stolzer Preis für ein Gerät, welches zwar über ein interessantes Bedienkonzept mit Touchfläche auf der Rückseite des Displays verfügt, aber immer noch mit Android 1.5 ausgeliefert wird. Warum die Handy-Hersteller sich so schwer damit tun, neue …

Motorola Backflip für 440,- Euro bei Amazon vorbestellen Read More »

Samsung I9000 Galaxy S: neues High-End Android-Handy

Mit dem I9000 Galaxy S bewegt sich Samsung im Bereich des Nexus One: 1 GHz CPU, 4″ Super AMOLED Anzeige, 16 oder 32 GB Speicher, Android 2.1 mit eigener Oberfläche. Das Ganze verpackt in einem 9,9 Millimeter dicken Gehäuse. Samsung will anscheinend zeigen, dass man in der Lage ist, auch ein richtiges High-End-Gerät zu bauen, …

Samsung I9000 Galaxy S: neues High-End Android-Handy Read More »

Nexus One immer noch nicht (offiziell) in Deutschland verfügbar

Im Januar ging noch das Gerücht um, das Nexus One würde ab Februar bei Vodafone für 149,00 € inklusive Vertrag verfügbar sein. Anscheinend hat das nicht geklappt, weder die Vodafone noch die Google-Seite geben einen Hinweis darauf, wann das Nexus One in Deutschland verfügbar sein wird. Freie Händler bieten das Gerät aber an, die Preis …

Nexus One immer noch nicht (offiziell) in Deutschland verfügbar Read More »

Motorola Devour: weiteres Android-Handy mit Tastatur

Motorola hat anscheinend erkannt, dass das Milestone/Droid auch wegen der Volltastatur so beliebt ist: mit dem Devour kommt jetzt eine weiteres Gerät, welches ein komplettes Tastenfeld bietet – und dazu noch besser aussieht. Außerdem kommt die Motoblur-Oberfläche für Android zum Einsatz, welche Status-Updates aus Social Networks wie Facebook direkt auf dem Homescreen anzeigt. Das Display …

Motorola Devour: weiteres Android-Handy mit Tastatur Read More »

de_DEDeutsch
Nach oben blättern