E-scooters: really useful - or just toys?

Also in Munich, since the summer there are e-scooters from various rental companies. Especially in a city with - halfway - functioning public transport, the question arises as to how sensible this kind of locomotion is.

My personal experience: you use an e-scooter when you are too lazy to walk to the next subway station. Really necessary was not a ride I have done with an e-scooter so far.

E-scooter on the sidewalk in Munich

Much has already been written about the use of e-scooters: although there are only scooters on the streets that are approved for rental, the basic problems remain. Neither is it particularly comfortable on one of the scooters, nor can one participate meaningfully in traffic. Especially the missing possibility to indicate an intended change of direction (taking one hand off the steering wheel is not a good idea, especially since there is usually only one lever to accelerate) makes a ride more "exciting" than it should be.

Apart from the bumpy ride itself, the price is a problem: one euro to unlock and then 19 cents per minute is charged by "TIER", one of the scooter rental companies represented in Munich. This puts you almost in similar regions to car sharing providers like Car2Go, Drivenow or Sixt Share - only that you get a complete car there, which should be a clear advantage especially in winter.

General weather: after the e-scooters were approved in June 2019, the suppliers have come onto the market in the summer. In good weather it is quite funny, in "dirty weather" or even later with snow and ice on the roads there will certainly be considerably more accidents than the emergency ambulances are already complaining about.

Whether or not e-scooters will prevail and actually make a contribution to a traffic turnaround will ensure that fewer cars are on the roads: it is not yet possible to foresee. The only thing that seems certain is that a number of driving licences will be in danger at the Oktoberfest in Munich. After all, the same rules apply with regard to drink-driving as when driving a car and not when riding a bicycle (although even there it is better to be sober on the road). All providers will probably not survive either - time will tell whose business model is best.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

E-Scooter: wirklich sinnvoll – oder nur Spielzeug?

Auch in München gibt es seit dem Sommer E-Scooter von verschiedenen Verleihfirmen. Gerade in einer Stadt mit – halbwegs – funktionierendem öffentlichen Nahverkehr stellt sich die Frage, wie sinnvoll diese Art der Fortbewegung ist.

Meine persönliche Erfahrung: man benutzt einen E-Scooter, wenn man zu faul ist, zur nächsten U-Bahn-Station zu laufen. Wirklich notwendig war bisher keine fahrt, die ich mit einem E-Scooter unternommen habe.

E-Scooter in München auf dem Gehweg

Über die Verwendung von E-Scootern ist schon viel geschrieben worden: zwar sind auf den Straßen nur zugelassene Scooter zum leihen vertreten, aber die grundsätzlichen Probleme bleiben. Weder ist es sonderlich bequem auf einem der Roller, noch kann man sinnvoll am Verkehr teilnehmen. Gerade die fehlende Möglichkeit, einen beabsichtigten Richtungswechsel anzuzeigen (eine Hand vom Lenkrad nehmen ist keine gute Idee, zumal meist nur ein Hebel zum Beschleunigen vorhanden ist) macht eine Fahrt „aufregender“ als sie sein müsste.

Abgesehen von der holprigen Fahrt an sich ist der Preis ein Problem: ein Euro zum entsperren und danach 19 Cent pro Minute nimmt z.B. „TIER“, einer der in München vertretenen Roller-Verleiher. Damit ist man fast in ähnlichen Regionen wie Car-Sharing-Anbieter wie Car2Go, Drivenow oder Sixt Share – nur das man dort ein komplett Auto bekommt, was gerade im Winter deutlich im Vorteil sein dürfte.

Allgemein Wetter: nachdem die E-Scooter im Juni 2019 zugelassen wurden, sind die Anbieter im Sommer auf den Markt gekommen. Bei gutem Wetter ist es durchaus witzig, bei „Schmuddelwetter“ oder noch später mit Schnee und Eis auf den Straßen wird es sicherlich noch deutlich mehr Unfälle geben, als die Notfallambulanzen aktuell schon beklagen.

Ob sich E-Scooter durchsetzen und tatsächlich einen Beitrag zur Verkehrswende leisten, dafür sorgen das weniger Autos auf den Straßen unterwegs sind: noch lässt es sich nicht absehen. Sicher scheint nur, dass zum Oktoberfest in München etliche Führerscheine in Gefahr sind. Schließlich gelten die selben Regeln in Bezug auf Alkohol am „Steuer“ wie beim Autofahren und nicht wie beim Fahrradfahren (wenngleich auch dort es besser ist, nüchtern unterwegs zu sein). Alle Anbieter werden vermutlich auch nicht überleben – die Zeit wird zeigen, wessen Geschäftsmodell das beste ist.