Sony WH-1000XM3 Hands-On

So far the BOSE Quietcomfort 25 were the ANC headphones of my choice. Unfortunately a loose contact crept in: after 5 years of use time for a new model.

The choice fell on the Sony WH-1000XM3which, according to other tests, are currently among the best active-noise-canceling headphones. The BOSE QC35II and the Beyerdynamic Lagoon ANC Explorer to choose from - I wanted to get away from BOSE, the Beyerdynamic are even more expensive with 400 Euro.

Sony WH-1000XM3

Unlike the BOSE QC25 the Sony WH-1000XM3 are Bluetooth headphones that also work without cables. To avoid problems in airplanes (where ANC headphones are most useful)

Charging is via USB-C, which should be a matter of course nowadays. Unfortunately, you can't listen to music while charging - maybe Sony didn't trust the battery technology enough and wanted to keep the Li-Ion battery as far away from the owner's head as possible in case of a battery defect.

Sony WH-1000XM3: Control via App

Sony provides an app for both Android and iOS, with which the WH-1000XM3 can be better adjusted. A user account doesn't have to be created, but for some functions the location has to be released - for example the adaptive noise control, which tries to detect where the wearer is currently located.

The app can also be used to optimize noise suppression and adjust it to the current air pressure - a function I'll try out on my next flight. Furthermore, the noise suppression can be adjusted in detail, including the possibility to give priority to voices, so that you can hear the announcements on the train, for example.

Sound

If the ANC is activated and no music is heard, there is a quiet, constant background noise. As soon as you start playback, you won't hear any of it anymore. The tuning of the headphones is relatively neutral - studio quality can be achieved through extensive intervention in the sound to achieve the ANC effect, which is controlled by the Antisound is generated, do not expect it.

For further individual settings you can configure an equalizer via the app. These settings are retained even if the headphones are supplied from another source, e.g. via a 3.5mm jack cable in an airplane.

For my personal taste in music with a focus on techno, trance and hands-up, the headphones are a good choice - in the end, you have to test listen and decide for yourself.

Battery life & charging

With activated ANC, one battery charge should be enough for up to 30 hours of playback - after a day in the office (without Bluetooth, with ANC) I can't make a more precise statement about this. The charging process is done via USB-C as already described, unfortunately the included cable is very short. Continue listening to music while using the WH-1000XM3 Unfortunately, it is not possible to charge the battery, nor can the USB-C connection be used to connect to the PC. But the charging process is quite fast: 10 minutes on the charger should be enough for 5 hours of playback.

Operation

Sony has placed two buttons on the left headphone: one that turns the headphones on and off and starts the Bluetooth pairing. Another one, with which either the ANC can be set or the configured voice assistant can be started.

The right earphone is equipped with a touch field: by means of various gestures, for example, the next song can be started, the volume can be adjusted or a call can be accepted or rejected. If you place your hand completely over the right earphone, the pass-through mode is activated, in which the music is turned down and the outside noise is directed inwards via the microphones - very practical if you want to hear a short announcement in more detail.

price/performance ratio

After Sony has probably already presented its successor at the IFA 2019 in the form of the WH-1000XM4 (if you keep the name scheme), you can get the current model for a good 290,- EURO in both colours. The price comparison for SONY WH-1000XM3 silver and SONY WH-1000XM3 black lists offer a good 100,- EURO below the previous year's price.

The BOSE QC35II are a bit cheaper to get - after these are supposed to do slightly worse in noise cancelling, the price for the Sony model is quite justified. The new model from BOSE (the Headphones 700) is clearly more expensive with 390,- EURO.

Ultimately, you have to decide for yourself what active noise cancelling is worth to you - I personally like the SONY WH-1000XM3 both in terms of features and sound.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Sony WH-1000XM3 Hands-On

Bisher waren die BOSE Quietcomfort 25 die ANC-Kopfhörer meiner Wahl. Leider hat sich doch ein Wackelkontakt eingeschlichen: nach gut 5 Jahren Nutzung Zeit für ein neues Modell.

Die Wahl fiel auf die Sony WH-1000XM3, die laut anderen Tests zu den aktuell besten Active-Noise-Cancelling Kopfhörern gehören. Als Alternativen standen die BOSE QC35II sowie die Beyerdynamic Lagoon ANC Explorer zur Auswahl – von BOSE wollte ich weg, die Beyerdynamic sind mit gut 400 Euro noch deutlich teurer.

Sony WH-1000XM3

Anders als die BOSE QC25 handelt es sich bei den Sony WH-1000XM3 um Bluetooth-Kopfhörer, die auch ohne Kabel funktionieren. Um keine Probleme in Flugzeugen zu bekommen (wo ANC-Kopfhörer am sinnvollsten eingesetzt werden)

Geladen wird per USB-C, was heutzutage selbstverständlich sein sollte. Leider kann man während des Ladens keine Musik hören – vielleicht hat Sony nicht genug vertrauen in die Akku-Technik und wollte bei einem Akku-Defekt des Li-Ion-Akkus diesen möglichst weit weg vom Kopf des Besitzers wissen.

Sony WH-1000XM3: Steuerung per App

Sowohl für Android als auch für iOS stellt Sony eine App bereit, mit der sich die WH-1000XM3 besser einstellen lassen. Ein Benutzerkonto muss nicht erstellt werden, für einige Funktionen muss jedoch der Standort freigeben werden – zum Beispiel die adaptive Geräuschsteuerung, die versucht zu erkennen wo sich der Träger aktuell befindet.

Auch lässt sich über die App die Geräuschunterdrückung optimieren und dem aktuellen Luftdruck anpassen – eine Funktion, die ich auf der nächsten Flugreise ausprobieren werde. Desweiteren lässt sich die Geräuschunterdrückung recht detailliert einstellen, inklusive der Möglichkeit Stimmen bevorzugt durchzuleiten, damit man z.B. im Zug noch die Durchsagen mit bekommt.

Klang

Aktiviert man das ANC und hört keine Musik, gibt es ein leises, konstantes Hintergrundrauschen. Sobald man die Wiedergabe startet, ist davon nichts mehr wahrzunehmen. Die Abstimmung der Kopfhörer ist verhältnismäßig neutral geraten – Studio-Qualität darf man natürlich durch den umfangreichen Eingriff in den Klang zum erreichen des ANC-Effekts, welcher per Antischall erzeugt wird, nicht erwarten.

Für eine weitere, individuelle Einstellungen kann man über die App einen Equalizer konfigurieren. Diese Settings bleiben auch erhalten, wenn man die Kopfhörer aus einer anderen Quelle versorgt, z.B. per 3,5mm-Klinkenkabel im Flugzeug.

Für meinen persönlichen Musikgeschmack mit Fokus auf Techno, Trance und Hands-Up eignen sich die Kopfhörer gut – letzten Endes muss man hier selbst Probehören und dann entscheiden.

Akkulaufzeit & Ladevorgang

Mit aktiviertem ANC soll eine Akku-Ladung für bis zu 30 Std. Wiedergabe reichen – nach einem Tag im Büro (ohne Bluetooth, mit ANC) kann ich darüber noch keine genauere Aussage machen. Der Ladevorgang geschieht wie bereits beschrieben über USB-C, leider ist das mitgelieferte Kabel sehr sehr kurz ausgefallen. Weiter Musik hören während man die WH-1000XM3 lädt ist leider nicht möglich, auch kann die USB-C-Verbindung nicht Verbindung zum PC genutzt werden. Dafür geht der Ladevorgang recht schnell: 10 Minuten am Ladegerät sollten für 5 Stunden Wiedergabe reichen.

Bedienung

Am linken Kopfhörer hat Sony zwei Tasten platziert: eine, die die Kopfhörer ein- bzw. ausschaltet sowie die Bluetooth-Kopplung startet. Eine weitere, mit der entweder das ANC eingestellt werden kann oder der jeweils konfigurierte Voice-Assistant gestartet wird.

Der rechte Ohrhörer ist mit einem Touch-Feld versehen: mittels verschiedener Gesten kann zum Beispiel das nächste Lied gestartet werden, die Lautstärke angepasst werden oder ein Anruf angenommen bzw. abgelehnt werden. Legt man die Hand komplett über den rechten Ohrhörer, aktiviert sich der Pass-Through-Modus, bei dem die Musik leise gestellt wird und die Außengeräusche über die Mikrophone nach innen geleitet werden – sehr praktisch, wenn man kurz eine Durchsage genauer hören möchte.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Nachdem Sony auf der IFA 2019 vermutlich bereits den Nachfolger im Form des WH-1000XM4 (wenn man das Namensschema beibehält) auf den Markt bringt, bekommt man das aktuelle Modell für gut 290,- EURO in beiden Farben. Der Preisvergleich für SONY WH-1000XM3 silber und SONY WH-1000XM3 schwarz listet Angebot gut 100,- EURO unter dem Vorjahrespreis.

Etwas günstiger sind die BOSE QC35II zu bekommen – nachdem diese etwas schlechter beim Noise-Cancelling abschneiden sollen, ist der Preis für das Modell von Sony durchaus gerechtfertigt. Das neue Modell von BOSE (die Headphones 700) ist mit 390,- EURO deutlich teurer.

Letzten Endes muss man selbst entscheiden, was einem das aktive Noise-Cancelling wert ist – mir persönlich gefallen die SONY WH-1000XM3 sowohl was die Features als auch den Klang angeht.