Behringer MS40 in test: Multimedia sound on the PC

Behringer MS40: Multimedia sound for the PC
After I have always worked with headphones on the PC for the last years (current: Beyerdynamic MMX300), I now wanted to have normal boxes on my desk again. My budget: up to 150,- Euro for a 2.0 system without subwoofer. My choice: the Behringer MS40which convince not only with solid technical data but also with a large number of connections.

I use the speakers in a slightly different way than the name "near field monitor" suggests: as normal PC speakers that should be able to reproduce music as well as game sound and TV sound. In other words, a classic multimedia mix. Connection to my two PCs runs via a Astro Mixampwhich is actually intended for headphones, but is also good as a player for the Behringer MS40 suitable. Advantage: you can easily mix different (digital) sources with each other and thus use game and multimedia PC at the same time.

Technical data Behringer MS40

  • integrated amplifier with 2×20 Watt
  • 24-bit/192 kHz D/A converter
  • optical and coaxial digital inputs (cannot be used simultaneously)
  • two analog inputs, which can be mixed with the digital source (3.5mm jack & cinch)
  • Headphone jack (6.3 mm stereo jack)
  • Frequency response: 50Hz to 25 kHz
The right box of the Behringer MS40 houses the controls
The right box of the Behringer MS40 houses the controls

As is the case with loudspeakers that are designated as "near-field monitors", the Behringer MS40 quite neutral in terms of the vote. Bass and treble can be adjusted with two controls. After setting up the speakers it took a while for the sound to improve significantly - either my ears got used to the speakers or a warm up effect actually came about.

Sound in everyday life

The connectors on the back of the right box of the MS40
The connectors on the back of the right box of the MS40

I have the Behringer MS40 with all kinds of music. The range goes from Dubstep to Classic-Rock to normal TV sound - just everything that can be played on a normal PC. Of course, sound always depends on the subjective perception, I personally like the sound that the Behringer MS40 produce a lot. The stereo stage is wide (sometimes you have the feeling that sounds are right next to your ear), the bass is not exaggerated and the trebles are very clear (without any "clinking" in the ear). In order to prevent vibrations from being transmitted to the desk the speakers are placed on two foam wedges that also ensure that the speakers are tilted slightly upwards. This way they are aimed directly at your ears when you sit at your desk.

The volume is perfectly adequate in a small study (about 10m²), the speakers do not seem to be challenged in this point. I haven't tried out how it works at maximum volume - according to various reports on the net it is said to become critical at maximum volume and the Behringer MS40 is overstrained. In practice, however, this will rarely be the case, after all, you don't want to fill a large disco with sound.

Conclusion on Behringer MS40

If you're looking for solid multimedia speakers for your PC and maybe even set a video to music or make a little music every now and then, I think the Behringer MS40 is a good choice. For round 150,- Euro (at Amazon) get two solid boxes with different inputs, without background noise and similar problems. The performance is perfectly adequate for home use, since you sit with relatively little distance to the boxes (at least when you put them on your desk). You don't necessarily need a Mixamp, but it depends on the equipment used in detail.

Update August 24, 2014

Even after more than a year I am still very impressed by the quality of the two Behringer boxes. Especially the voice output (in case you want to "misuse" the MS40 on TV) is very clear and present. No problems or signs of wear and tear have occurred in the meantime. But the Price slightly decreased to 126,- Euro at Amazon.

[amazon_link asins='B00E87OLBU,B000IKSIOM,B00181YT9S' template='ProductCarousel' store='techbloggernet-21′ marketplace='DE' link_id='a72eb758-d935-11e7-a2d2-a9fb7ccdaae5′]

1 thought on “Behringer MS40 im Test: Multimedia-Sound am PC”

  1. Hi,

    Thank you for your contribution.
    I enjoyed reading it.
    I've had Harman Karton soundsticks for some time now and I'm very happy with them, but your Behringer MS40 looks very good too.

    best regards.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Behringer MS40 im Test: Multimedia-Sound am PC

Behringer MS40: Multimedia-Sound für den PC
Nachdem ich die letzten Jahre immer mit Kopfhörern am PC gearbeitet habe (aktuell: Beyerdynamic MMX300), wollte ich nun wieder normale Boxen auf dem Schreibtisch haben. Mein Budget: bis 150,- Euro für ein 2.0-System ohne Subwoofer. Meine Wahl: die Behringer MS40, die neben soliden technischen Daten auch mit einer Vielzahl an Anschlüssen überzeugen.

Ich verwende die Boxen etwas anders, als die Bezeichnung „near field monitor“ vermuten lässt: nämlich als normale PC-Lautsprecher, die sowohl Musik, als auch Gamesound und Fernseh-Ton wiedergeben sollten. Einen klassischen Multimedia-Mix also. Verbindung zu meinen zwei PCs läuft über einen Astro Mixamp, der zwar eigentlich für Kopfhörer gedacht ist, aber auch gut als Zuspieler für die Behringer MS40 eignet. Vorteil: man kann leicht verschiedene (Digitale-)Quellen miteinander mischen und so Spiele- und Multimedia-PC gleichzeitig verwenden.

Technische Daten Behringer MS40

  • integrierter Verstärker mit 2×20 Watt
  • 24-Bit/192 kHz D/A-Wandler
  • optische und koaxiale Digital-Eingänge (nicht gleichzeitig nutzbar)
  • zwei analoge Eingänge, die mit der digitalen Quelle gemischt werden können (3,5mm-Klinke & Cinch)
  • Kopfhöreranschluss (6,3-mm-Stereoklinke)
  • Frequenzgang: 50Hz bis 25 kHz
Die rechte Box der Behringer MS40 beherbergen die Regler
Die rechte Box der Behringer MS40 beherbergen die Regler

Wie es sich für Lautsprecher, die als „Nahfeldmonitore“ ausgewiesen werden gehört, sind die Behringer MS40 von der Abstimmung her recht Neutral. Bass und Höhen können über zwei Regler eingestellt werden. Nach dem Aufstellen hat es eine Zeit gedauert, in der sich der Klang noch einmal deutlich verbessert hat – entweder haben sich meine Ohren an die Boxen gewöhnt oder es hat sich tatsächlich ein Einspieleffekt eingestellt.

Klang im Alltag

Die Anschlüsse auf der Rückseite der rechten Box der MS40
Die Anschlüsse auf der Rückseite der rechten Box der MS40

Ich habe die Behringer MS40 mit allerlei Musik konfrontiert. Die Spanne geht hier von Dubstep über Classic-Rock zum normalen TV-Ton – eben alles, was man so auf einem normalen PC wiedergibt. Natürlich ist Klang immer vom subjektiven Empfinden abhängig, mir persönlich gefällt der Sound, den die Behringer MS40 produzieren sehr. Die Stereobühne ist breit aufgestellt (teilweise hat man das Gefühl, dass Geräusche direkt neben dem Ohr sind), der Bass ist nicht übertrieben und die Höhen sind sehr klar (ohne das es „klirrt“ im Ohr). Damit sich keine Schwingungen auf den Schreibtisch übertragen, stehen die Boxen bei mir auf zwei Schaumstoffkeilen, die auch dafür sorgen, dass die Boxen etwas nach oben gekippt werden. Damit sind sie direkt auf die Ohren ausgerichtet, wenn man am Schreibtisch sitzt.

Die Lautstärke ist in einem kleinen Arbeitszimmer (ca. 10m²) vollkommen ausreichend, die Boxen scheinen in diesem Punkt nicht gefordert zu sein. Wie es sich bei maximaler Lautstärke verhält habe ich nicht ausprobiert – verschiedenen Berichten im Netz zu folge soll es bei maximaler Lautstärke kritisch werden und die Behringer MS40 überfordert zu sein. In der Praxis wird dies aber eher selten der Fall sein, schließlich will man ja keine Großraumdisco beschallen.

Fazit zu Behringer MS40

Wer solide Multimedia-Lautsprecher für seinen PC sucht und vielleicht ab und an auch ein Video vertont oder ein wenig Musik macht ist mit den Behringer MS40 aus meiner Sicht gut bedient. Für rund 150,- Euro (bei Amazon) bekommen zwei solide Boxen mit verschiedenen Eingängen, die ohne Grundrauschen und ähnliche Probleme auskommen. Die Leistung ist für den Heimbetrieb vollkommen ausreichend, da man mit relativ geringem Abstand zu den Boxen sitzt (zumindest wenn man sie auf den Schreibtisch stellt). Einen Mixamp braucht man nicht unbedingt, dabei kommt es aber auf die im Detail verwendeten Geräte an.

Update 24.08.2014

Auch nach über einem Jahr bin ich von der Qualität der beiden Behringer-Boxen noch sehr angetan. Gerade auch Sprachausgabe (falls man die MS40 am TV „mißbrauchen“ will) ist sehr klar und präsent. Probleme oder Abnutzungserscheinungen sind in der Zwischenzeit nicht aufgetreten. Dafür ist der Preis etwas gesunken auf 126,- Euro bei Amazon.

[amazon_link asins=’B00E87OLBU,B000IKSIOM,B00181YT9S‘ template=’ProductCarousel‘ store=’techbloggernet-21′ marketplace=’DE‘ link_id=’a72eb758-d935-11e7-a2d2-a9fb7ccdaae5′]