Nginx

kadder.de accessible via IPv6

A message on our own behalf: www.tech-blogger.net is not only accessible via HTTPS/SPDY, but now also has an IPv6 address. This does not save any IPv4 address (the number of available IPv4 addresses is limited, whereas IPv6 offers an almost infinite address space), but it is still a step towards the "Internet of tomorrow" - as Google ...

kadder.de accessible via IPv6 Read More »

Pagespeed: Nginx + Memcached + PHP5-FPM

Nginx with PHP5-FPM is already quite fast, if finished pages are stored via Memcached the load time can be reduced even further. The implementation is simple. This article is inspired by a tutorial on 6tech.org and transferred to current software versions. The following requirements must be met so that the Nginx setup can benefit from Memcached: nginx with PHP5-FPM php5-memcached modules installed ...

Pagespeed: Nginx + Memcached + PHP5-FPM Read More »

Nginx with SSL and SPDY

As some of you may have noticed, my blog kadder.de is now running over an encrypted connection (recognizable by the HTTPS icon in the browser bar). The main reason for this change, which unfortunately costs some time at first byte time, was the possibility to offer connection via SPDY for corresponding browsers (e.g. Chrome). Also, I was interested to see how ...

Nginx with SSL and SPDY Read More »

Speed Index < 1000 with Nginx, ngx_pagespeed, PHP, W3TC

Nothing is more annoying than slow loading websites - but if you host WordPress yourself (in my case on a cloud server at JiffyBox) you have plenty of room for optimization. Here I present some of them. The final result beforehand: for the blog home page at www.tech-blogger.net Webpagetest.org determined on 09 November 2013 a speed index of 601 (smaller is better, more information on the ...

Speed Index < 1000 with Nginx, ngx_pagespeed, PHP, W3TC Read More »

Accelerate your website with PageSpeed service

Google has made it its goal to make the Internet faster - to improve the surfing experience for users. There are different approaches, one of the most important is the PageSpeed Insights, with which brakes in the delivery of web pages can be detected. In addition to individual aids, an overall score is also given as to how well ...

Accelerate your website with PageSpeed service Read More »

Nginx: Activate GZIP

To speed up the data transfer and to minimize the data transfer GZIP should be enabled for JavaScript, CSS and HTML files. By default Gzip is not enabled for all relevant mimetypes, so this should be done in nginx.conf (add in http section): gzip on; gzip_disable "MSIE [1-6]\.(?!.*SV1)"; gzip_proxied any; gzip_buffers 16 8k; gzip_types text/plain text/html text/css text/xml ...

Nginx: Activate GZIP Read More »

nginx + PHP under Debian (+ W3TC)

nginx is a fast web server that can also be used as a reverse proxy or for streaming Flash videos. Originally developed for the requirements of a Russian search engine, more and more web projects also rely on nginx. Unlike the well-known Apache web server, the configuration of nginx under Debian is not quite as simple - you still have to download files from ...

nginx + PHP under Debian (+ W3TC) Read More »

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Schlagwort: Nginx

kadder.de via IPv6 erreichbar

Eine Meldung in eigener Sache: www.tech-blogger.net ist nicht nur via HTTPS/SPDY erreichbar, sondern hat ab sofort auch eine IPv6-Adresse. Damit wird zwar keine IPv4-Adresse gespart (die Zahl der zur Verfügung stehenden IPv4-Adressen ist begrenzt, wogegen IPv6 einen nahezu unendlichen Adressraum bietet), dennoch ist es ein Schritt in Richtung des „Internet

Weiterlesen >>

Pagespeed: Nginx + Memcached + PHP5-FPM

Nginx mit PHP5-FPM ist schon recht schnell, werden fertige Seiten mittels Memcached gespeichert lässt sich die Ladezeit noch weiter reduzieren. Die Umsetzung ist einfach. Dieser Beitrag ist inspiriert von einer Anleitung auf 6tech.org und auf aktuelle Software-Versionen übertragen. Folgende Voraussetzungen müssen erfüllt sein, damit das Nginx-Setup von Memcached profitieren kann:

Weiterlesen >>

Nginx mit SSL und SPDY

Wie einigen vielleicht aufgefallen ist, läuft mein Blog kadder.de neuerdings über eine verschlüsselte Verbindung (zu erkennen am HTTPS-Symbol in der Browser-Leiste). Hauptgrund für diese Umstellung, die leider etwas Zeit bei der First Byte Time kostet, war die Möglichkeit, Verbindung auch via SPDY für entsprechende Browser (z.B. Chrome) anzubieten. Außerdem hat

Weiterlesen >>

Speed Index < 1000 mit Nginx, ngx_pagespeed, PHP, W3TC

Nichts ist nerviger als langsam ladende Webseiten – wer WordPress selbst hostet (in meinem Fall auf einem Cloudserver bei JiffyBox) hat jedoch etliche Luft für Optimierungen. Hier stelle ich einige vor. Das Endergebnis vorweg: für die Blog-Startseite unter www.tech-blogger.net ermittelte Webpagetest.org am 09. November 2013 einen Speed-Index von 601 (kleiner

Weiterlesen >>

nginx: Expires für Bilder

Nachdem ich erst versucht habe, nginx dazu zu überreden, nur Bilder über einen entsprechenden „location“-Block mit einem expires-Header zu versehen. Das hat leider nicht geklappt (Ergebnis: Bilder wurden nicht mehr gefunden). Lösung: für die globale location entsprechend gesetzt greifen die expires-Header (jetzt bei mir auf 8d gestellt). location / {

Weiterlesen >>

Nginx: GZIP aktivieren

Um die Datenübertragung zu beschleunigen und den Datentransfer zu minimieren sollte GZIP für JavaScript, CSS und HTML-Dateien aktiviert werden. Per default ist Gzip nicht für alle relevanten Mimetypes aktiviert, sodass dies in der nginx.conf nachgeholt werden sollte (im http-Bereich hinzufügen): gzip on; gzip_disable „MSIE [1-6]\.(?!.*SV1)“; gzip_proxied any; gzip_buffers 16 8k;

Weiterlesen >>