FreeNAS Plugin: Plex Media Server

Plex Media Server Plugin for FreeNAS
Plex Media Server Plugin for FreeNAS: easy installation
With the current FreeNAS version 9.1.x the plugin installation has been simplified considerably, and new plugins have been added. Very fresh: Plex Media Server as plugin for FreeNAS. This allows media files to be easily distributed in the network and brought to suitable clients.

The installation is very easy: if a plugin jail is already configured on FreeNAS, the Plex media server plugin simply downloaded and installed directly. After that, only one (or more) media directory needs to be mounted in the jail so that Plex Media Server can add the files to its database. Currently version 0.9.8.5 is available, which is the latest version of Plex Media Server.

More information about the Plex Media Server (which also apply to the FreeNAS plugin) are available on the Homepage of the project. In the FreeNAS Forum there is also a Thread on the topic. If you are still looking for a FreeNAS system you might find it in my Shopping list for a FreeNAS system based on HP-N54L Inspiration. But FreeNAS also runs very well on other systems.

Update 01.09.2014
On the previous HP G7 microservers, transcoding under Plex can be a problem. The newer G8 version offers more performance of the microserver, which can also be upgraded with a small Xeon processor. On the other hand, these systems are currently still considerably more expensive.

2 thoughts on “FreeNAS-Plugin: Plex Media Server”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

FreeNAS-Plugin: Plex Media Server

Plex Media Server Plugin für FreeNAS
Plex Media Server Plugin für FreeNAS: einfache Installation
Mit den aktuellen FreeNAS-Version 9.1.x hat sich die Plugin-Installation deutlich vereinfacht, damit sind auch neue Plugins dazugekommen. Ganz frisch: Plex Media Server als Plugin für FreeNAS. Damit können Medien-Dateien einfach im Netzwerk verteilt und auf passende Clients gebracht werden.

Die Installation ist denkbar einfach: wenn bereits ein Plugin-Jail unter FreeNAS konfiguriert ist kann das Plex-Media-Server-Plugin einfach heruntergeladen werden und direkt installiert werden. Danach muss nur noch ein Medien-Verzeichnis (oder mehrere) im Jail gemountet werden, damit der Plex Media Server die Dateien seiner Datenbank hinzufügen kann. Aktuell steht die Version 0.9.8.5 zur Verfügung, was der aktuellen Plex-Media-Server-Version entspricht.

Mehr Informationen zum Plex Media Server (die auch für das FreeNAS-Plugin gelten) gibt es auf der Homepage des Projekts. Im FreeNAS-Forum gibt es ebenfalls einen Thread zum Thema. Wer noch auf der Suche nach einem FreeNAS-System ist findet vielleicht in meiner Einkaufsliste für ein FreeNAS-System auf HP-N54L-Basis Inspiration. FreeNAS läuft aber auch sehr gut auf anderen Systemen.

Update 01.09.2014
Auf den bisherigen HP Microservern G7 kann es mit Transcoding unter Plex schon einmal eng werden. Mehr Leistung bietet die neuere G8-Version des Microservers, welche sich auch mit einem kleinen Xeon-Prozessor aufrüsten lässt. Dafür sind diese Systeme derzeit noch deutlich teurer.