FreeNAS Plugin: Crashplan

Unfortunately there is still no dropbox support for FreeNASwith the now released Crashplan-Plugin the service of the same name can be used for a regular backup in the cloud (whether you want to entrust your data to a cloud company is another matter, an additional copy won't harm in any case).

Crash Plan can be installed via the FreeNAS plugin management. For the paid packages, Crashplan+ Unlimited is a good choice, where you get unlimited data volume in the cloud for 4 dollars a month - the limiting factor is then only the upload bandwidth, whereby after an initial full upload only the changes are transferred.

With the new plugin management it seems that finally some movement in the FreeNAS plugins is coming. Recently the Plex Media Server as FreeNAS Plugin appeared, further useful plugins will surely follow.

If you are thinking about setting up a NAS at home based on FreeNAS, I'd like to introduce my Shopping list recommended.

Update 08-15-2014:
Me use crash plan now for a backup of all important files as well as all files that cannot be retrieved easily (holiday pictures). It is practical that you can restore the data of all PCs on which Crashplan is installed - in case of a crash you usually have no possibility to use the original PC anymore.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

FreeNAS-Plugin: Crashplan

Leider gibt es immer noch keine Dropbox-Unterstützung für FreeNAS, mit dem jetzt erschienenen Crashplan-Plugin kann jedoch schon mal der gleichnamige Service für ein regelmäßiges Backup in der Cloud verwendet werden (ob man seine Daten einem Cloud-Unternehmen anvertrauen will steht auf einem anderen Blatt, eine zusätzliche Kopie schadet auf jeden Fall nichts).

Crashplan kann über die FreeNAS-Pluginverwaltung installiert werden. Bei den kostenpflichtigen Paketen bietet sich Crashplan+ Unlimited an, bei dem man für 4 Dollar im Monat unbegrenztes Datenvolumen in der Cloud bekommt – der limitierende Faktor ist dann nur noch die Upload-Bandbreite, wobei nach einem erstmaligen Komplett-Upload nur noch die Änderungen übertragen werden.

Mit der neuen Plugin-Verwaltung scheint endlich mal etwas Bewegung in die FreeNAS-Plugins zu kommen. Vor kurzem ist bereits der Plex-Media-Server als FreeNAS-Plugin erschienen, weitere sinnvolle Plugins werden sicherlich noch folgen.

Wer überlegt, ein NAS zuhause auf FreeNAS-Basis aufzusetzen, dem sei meine Einkaufsliste empfohlen.

Update 15.08.2014:
Ich verwende Crashplan nun für ein Backup aller wichtigen Dateien sowie aller Dateien, die sich nicht so einfach wiederbeschaffen lassen (Urlaubsbilder). Praktisch ist, das man die Daten zu allen PCs wiederherstellen kann, auf denen Crashplan installiert ist – im Falle eines Falles hat man ja meist keine Möglichkeit mehr, den Original-PC zu verwenden.