BOSE QuietComfort 25 Ears-On

If you want to have peace and quiet in the office or on the road, you should look for headphones with active noise suppression: BOSE has a very interesting offer in its portfolio with the QuietComfort 25. This field report should make a possible purchase decision easier, but is of course not a professional test.

BOSE Quietcomfort 25
BOSE Quietcomfort 25

Already the BOSE SoundTrue Around-Ear headphones keeps ambient noise away from the ear quite well - with the QuietComfort 25 it works even better. The trick: three microphones on each auricle pick up the ambient noise in real time and mix the sound waves according to the music playback so that they cancel out the disturbing noises. The result: a rustling air conditioning system or turbine noises in the aircraft fade into the background or can no longer be heard at all. For this function it is necessary to insert an AAA battery in the right headphone - without the power supply it is still possible to listen to music, this was different with the predecessor.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Scope of delivery

The BOSE QuietComfort 25 comes in a handy bag, which contains a place for a spare battery and an adapter for airplanes - the 3.5mm jack plug has not yet become widely accepted. Once you've unpacked the headphones, you'll immediately notice the truly flawless and high-quality workmanship: the mechanism for folding the headphones is quite solidly made of metal. The cable with the remote control (in my case for Apple devices) can be removed without any problems, so in case of a defect it can be replaced easily.

The earcups themselves are covered with an imitation leather, which makes them very comfortable to wear - although the earcups are not BOSE for this price you can also bet on real leather or at least include a replacement set (which is available from BOSE for about 35,- EURO). The wearing comfort is very pleasant, although this depends of course very much on the individual head shape.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Sound quality

Noise Cancelling only with additional battery
Noise Cancelling only with additional battery

After I have already published here in the blog the Beyerdynamic MMX300 against the Ultrasone 450 Pro and the BOSE SoundTrue (as well as on the desk with a pair of Behringer MS40 work) I have of course also made the audio sample here. The sound impression always depends on the music preferences of course - with trance or songs like "Summertime Sadness" the BOSE QuietComfort a good impression, even if it doesn't sound as "fresh" and clear as the MMX300 or the Ultrasone Pro. Advantage of the active noise cancelling: to drown out background noise, you don't need so much volume - this is good for the ears and makes it less tiring to listen to music for a longer period of time.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Noise Cancelling

To capture the noise cancelling effect as well as possible, I took advantage of the fact that noise cancelling is based on a physical effect: it can be recorded with a simple microphone. I used the MMX300 headset for this, certainly not a perfect solution but sufficient to show the effects.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Conclusion

Although not quite cheap fun, for about 270,- Euro (at Amazon) you get probably the best active noise cancelling at the moment, which almost completely forgets about a roaring air conditioner or turbine noises in the airplane. The workmanship is impeccable, the hinges make a very solid impression. With an AAA battery you can also easily go on a long distance flight, the practical storage box offers space for a spare battery.

Even if BOSE doesn't have a very good reputation among hifi enthusiasts, this product really does do something good. If you're not expecting the perfect sound, but the best possible listening experience without background noise, then this is the right product for you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Ears-On

Wer im Büro oder Unterwegs seine Ruhe haben möchte, sollte sich nach Kopfhörern mit aktiver Geräuschunterdrückung umschauen: BOSE hat mit dem QuietComfort 25 ein sehr interessantes Angebot im Portfolio. Dieser Erfahrungsbericht soll eine mögliche Kaufentscheidung erleichtern, ist aber natürlich kein professioneller Test.

BOSE Quietcomfort 25

BOSE Quietcomfort 25

Bereits der BOSE SoundTrue Around-Ear Kopfhörer hält Umgebungsgeräusche recht gut vom Ohr fern – mit dem QuietComfort 25 klappt das noch besser. Der Trick: drei Mikrophone an jeder Ohrmuschel nehmen die Umgebungsgeräusche in Echtzeit auf und mischen der Musikwiedergabe entsprechend so Schallwellen bei, dass diese die störenden Geräusche aufheben. Das Ergebnis: eine rauschende Klimaanlage oder Turbinen-Geräusche im Flugzeug treten in den Hintergrund bzw. sind überhaupt nicht mehr zu hören. Für diese Funktion ist es nötig, eine AAA-Batterie im rechten Kopfhörer einzusetzen – ohne die Stromversorgung ist es dennoch möglich Musik zu hören, dies war beim Vorgänger noch anders.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Lieferumfang

Der BOSE QuietComfort 25 kommt in einer praktischen Tasche geliefert, die neben einem Platz für eine Ersatzbatterie auch einen Adapter für Flugzeuge beinhaltet – der 3,5mm-Klinkenstecker hat sich noch nicht überall durchgesetzt. Hat man die Kopfhörer ausgepackt, merkt man direkt die wirklich makellose und hochwertige Verarbeitung: die Mechanik zum Zusammenlegen der Kopfhörer ist recht massiv aus Metall gefertigt. Das Kabel mit der Fernsteuerung (in meinem Fall für Apple-Geräte) lässt sich ohne weiteres abnehmen, bei einem Defekt also auch einfach austauschen.

Die Hörmuscheln selbst sind mit einem Kunstlederbezug versehen, die für ein durchaus angenehmes Tragegefühl sorgen – allerdings hatte BOSE für diesen Preis auch auf echtes Leder setzen oder wenigstens ein Ersatz-Set beilegen können (welches für rund 35,- EURO bei BOSE erhältlich ist). Der Tragekomfort ist sehr angenehm, wobei das natürlich sehr von der individuellen Kopfform abhängt.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Klangqualität

Noise Cancelling nur mit zusätzlicher Batterie

Noise Cancelling nur mit zusätzlicher Batterie

Nachdem ich hier im Blog bereits den Beyerdynamic MMX300 gegen den Ultrasone 450 Pro sowie den BOSE SoundTrue getestet habe (sowie auf dem Schreibtisch mit einem Paar Behringer MS40 arbeite) habe ich natürlich auch hier die Hörprobe gemacht. Der Klangeindruck hängt natürlich immer von den Musik-Vorlieben ab – bei Trance oder Liedern wie „Summertime Sadness“ macht der BOSE QuietComfort einen guten Eindruck, auch wenn er nicht ganz so „frisch“ und klar klingt wie der MMX300 bzw. der Ultrasone Pro. Vorteil des aktiven Noise-Cancelling: um die Nebengeräusche zu übertönen braucht es nicht so viel Lautstärke – das schon die Ohren und macht es weniger Anstrengend, über einen längeren Zeitraum Musik zu hören.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Noise Cancelling

Um den Noise-Cancelling-Effekt möglichst gut einzufangen, habe ich die Tatsache ausgenutzt, dass ein physikalischer Effekt dem Noise Cancelling zu Grunde liegt: es lässt mit einem einfachen Mikrophon aufnehmen. Ich habe dafür das des MMX300-Headsets verwendet, sicherlich keine perfekte Lösung aber durchaus ausreichend, um die Auswirkungen aufzuzeigen.

BOSE QuietComfort 25 Fazit

Zwar kein ganz günstiger Spaß, für rund 270,- Euro (bei Amazon) bekommt man aber das aktuell wahrscheinlich beste aktive Noise Cancelling, welches eine rauschende Klimaanlage oder Turbinengeräusche im Flugzeug fast vollständig vergessen lässt. Die Verarbeitung ist tadellos, die Scharniere machen einen sehr soliden Eindruck. Mit einer AAA-Batterie kann auch auch ohne weiteres einen Langstreckenflug bestreiten, die praktische Aufbewahrungsbox bietet Platz für eine Ersatzbatterie.

Auch wenn BOSE unter Hifi-Begeisterten einen nicht allzu guten Ruf besitzt, mit diesem Produkt ist wirklich etwas gutes gelungen. Wenn man nicht den perfekten Klang, sondern das bestmögliche Hörerlebnis ohne Nebengeräusche erwartet, ist man hier richtig.

Leave a Reply