Smartwatch: Ticwatch 2 Hands-On

With the TicWatch 2, a kick-start campaign has been successfully completed and the delivery of the Smartwatches to supporters is underway. I have already received my model "Oak" and created a short hands-on.

TicWatch 2 display in sleep mode
TicWatch 2 display in sleep mode
The TicWatch 2 is manufactured by Mobvoi - the company was founded in China by former Google employees. The corresponding operating system TicWear OS is also based on Android OS. The operation corresponds to a mixture between the current Android Wear 1.5 and the upcoming Android Wear 2.0. In addition, there are own approaches regarding the operation, for example via a sensor in the frame.

At Kick starter the project has been backed within a very short time. In social media like Facebook there are also active Groupsin which data is exchanged via the TicWatch 2.

TicWatch 2: technical data

The technical data of the Chinese Smartwatch are quite up-to-date:

  • Processor: MTK MT2601 with 1.2 Ghz Dual Core
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Connectivity: Bluetooth 4.1, WiFi
  • GPS and GLONASS (European standard)
  • Wireless charging (approx. 90 minutes charging time)
  • Battery: 300 mAh
  • Not waterproof (IP65 certification)
  • 1.4 inch display with 287 DPI

Both Android (from 4.3) and iOS (from 8.0) are supported, if you couple the TicWatch 2 with an iPhone some functions are missing. Apple is more restrictive in this respect, as far as the possibilities of Smartwatches apart from the Apple Watch itself are concerned. Purely from the technical specifications, the TicWatch 2 quite very good - especially the display with OLED technology is impressive, unlike e.g. the Motorola 360 there is no sensor area which disturbs the display.

TicWatch 2: in everyday life

TicWatch 2 Weather
TicWatch 2 Weather
I have the TicWatch 2 now a few days coupled with the iPhone 7 used as a regular clock. The wearing comfort is quite pleasant, even though the watch is quite big and above all, it is also high. The latter is well concealed, as the stainless steel frame is only about half as high as the watch itself. Very practical: the display doesn't go off completely, but shows the time continuously in a reduced version (without second hand). Thus the watch always looks good and the effect of the display turning black, which is known from other Smartwatches, is avoided.

Unfortunately, the range of apps is very limited: there are various watch faces that can be used to customize the look. In addition, you are limited to the pre-installed apps, a comprehensive support by apps is not given. This makes TicWatch much less practical than it might be. Here Mobvoi definitely has to deliver more and offer much more functionality when using Android as well as iOS.

TicWatch 2: (preliminary) conclusion

TicWatch 2 Pedometer
TicWatch 2 Pedometer
With the current status of the TicWatch 2 (used was Ticwear version "Tic_4.2.6_intl") is still missing some functionality for a reasonable use as Smartwatch. But the offered functions like pedometer, GPS (only in workouts) or general notifications work very well and reliably. I will continue to use TicWear 2 for now and see how the upcoming updates will affect me.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Smartwatch: Ticwatch 2 Hands-On

Mit der TicWatch 2 ist eine Kickstarter-Kampagne erfolgreich abgeschlossen worden, die Auslieferung der Smartwatches an die Unterstützer läuft. Ich habe mein Modell „Oak“ schon erhalten und ein kurzes Hands-On erstellt.

TicWatch 2 Display im Ruhemodus
TicWatch 2 Display im Ruhemodus
Die TicWatch 2 wird von Mobvoi herstellt – die Firma wurde in China von ehemaligen Google-Mitarbeitern gegründet. Das entsprechende Betriebssystem TicWear OS ist auch an Android OS angelehnt. Dabei entspricht der Bedienung einer Mischung zwischen dem aktuellen Android Wear 1.5 und dem kommenden Android Wear 2.0. Dazu kommen eigene Ansätze was die Bedienung betrifft, zum Beispiel über einen Sensor im Rahmen.

Bei Kickstarter ist das Projekt innerhalb kürzester Zeit gebacked worden. In den sozialen Medien wie Facebook gibt es ebenfalls aktive Gruppen, in denen sich über die TicWatch 2 ausgetauscht wird.

TicWatch 2: technische Daten

Die technischen Daten der chinesischen Smartwatch sind durchaus up-to-date:

  • Prozessor: MTK MT2601 mit 1,2 Ghz Dual Core
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Connectivity: Bluetooth 4.1, WiFi
  • GPS und GLONASS (europäischer Standard)
  • Wireless Charging (ca. 90 Minuten Ladezeit)
  • Akku: 300 mAh
  • Nicht wasserdicht (IP65 Zertifizierung)
  • 1,4 Zoll Display mit 287 DPI

Unterstützt wird sowohl Android (ab 4.3) als auch iOS (ab 8.0), koppelt man die TicWatch 2 mit einem iPhone fehlen einige Funktionen. Apple ist hier restriktiver, was die Möglichkeiten von Smartwatches abseits der Apple Watch selbst angeht. Rein von den technischen Spezifikationen ist die TicWatch 2 durchaus sehr gut – gerade das Display mit OLED-Technologie ist beeindruckend, anders als z.B. die Motorola 360 gibt es keinen Sensor-Bereich der das Display stört.

TicWatch 2: im Alltag

TicWatch 2 Wetter
TicWatch 2 Wetter
Ich habe die TicWatch 2 jetzt ein paar Tage gekoppelt an das iPhone 7 als reguläre Uhr benutzt. Das Tragegefühl ist durchaus angenehm, auch wenn die Uhr doch recht groß und vor allem auch hoch ist. Letzteres wird zwar gut kaschiert, da der Edelstahl-Rahmen ungefähr nur halb so hoch ist die die Uhr komplett. Sehr praktisch: das Display geht nicht komplett aus, sondern zeigt in einer reduzierten Version (ohne Sekundenzeiger) durchgehend die Uhrzeit an. Dadurch sieht die Uhr immer gut aus und der von anderen Smartwatches bekannte Effekt, dass das Display schwarz wird, wird vermieden.

Leider ist das Angebot an Apps sehr eingeschränkt: zwar gibt es verschiedene Watch-Faces, mit denen sich die Optik anpassen lässt. Daneben ist man auf die vorinstallierten Apps beschränkt, ein umfassender Support durch Apps ist nicht gegeben. Dadurch ist die TicWatch deutlich weniger praktisch, als sie vielleicht sein könnte. Hier muss Mobvoi definitiv nachliefern und sowohl bei Verwendung von Android als auch iOS deutlich mehr Funktionalität bieten.

TicWatch 2: (vorläufiges) Fazit

TicWatch 2 Schrittzähler
TicWatch 2 Schrittzähler
Mit dem aktuellen Stand der TicWatch 2 (genutzt wurde Ticwear Version „Tic_4.2.6_intl“) fehlt für einen sinnvollen Einsatz als Smartwatch noch einiges an Funktionalität. Die gebotenen Funktionen wie Schrittzähler, GPS (nur in Workouts) oder allgemein Benachrichtigungen funktionieren jedoch sehr gut und zuverlässig. Ich werde die TicWear 2 jetzt erst einmal weiter verwenden und schauen, wie sich die kommende Updates auswirken.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

* Dieses Formular speichert Name, E-Mail und Inhalt, damit wir den Überblick über auf dieser Webseite veröffentlichte Kommentare behalten. Für detaillierte Informationen, wo, wie und warum wir deine Daten speichern, wirf bitte einen Blick in unsere Datenschutzerklärung.

Ich stimme zu