Moto G LTE (2013) gets Android 5.1 directly

For the LTE version of the Moto G LTE (1st Gen., 2013), there seems to be no Android 5.0.2 available, but Motorola is going directly to Android 5.2 - the update will probably come a bit later.

Moto G (2013) with Android 5.0.2
Moto G (2013) with Android 5.0.2
There are supposed to be tests with Android 5.0.x on the Moto G LTE in different regions, but Motorola has not been able to make any progress. Androidpolice.com decided to omit this version and immediately upgrade to the current version 5.1.

Unfortunately, it is not clear when the update will be released - Motorola is still among the Android smartphone manufacturers with the fastest updates, but even these are not as good as the Google's Nexus devices ...clearly. From the user's point of view, it would be advantageous if the updates could be installed for all devices in one day, as is the case with Apple - at least for devices from one manufacturer, if you can't bring all Android devices up to date. Android still has some disadvantages regarding the ecosystem.

But for Moto-G users it also means Android 5.1 is used for both the Moto G LTE as well as for the normal version. In principle, not bad for a device that was launched in 2013 and is therefore almost two years old - on the smartphone market, that's almost an eternity. The Moto G of the 3rd generation, which is to be released this year and will have a much more powerful processor, is also casting its first shadows.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Moto G LTE (2013) bekommt direkt Android 5.1

Für die LTE-Variante des Moto G LTE (1st Gen., 2013) kommt anscheinend kein Android 5.0.2, sondern Motorola geht direkt zu Android 5.2 über – das Update kommt dafür wahrscheinlich etwas später.

Moto G (2013) mit Android 5.0.2
Moto G (2013) mit Android 5.0.2
So soll es zwar in verschiedenen Regionen Tests mit Android 5.0.x auf dem Moto G LTE geben, Motorola hat sich aber laut Androidpolice.com dazu entschlossen, diese Version auszulassen und sofort auf die aktuelle Version 5.1 zu setzen.

Leider ist offen, wann das Update erscheinen wird – Motorola ist zwar immer noch unter den Android-Smartphone-Herstellern mit den schnellsten Updates, aber auch diese ziehen sich im Vergleich zu Googles Nexus-Geräten deutlich hin. Aus Nutzersicht wäre es von Vorteil, wenn die Updates wie bei Apple an einem Tag für alle Geräte aufgespielt würden – wenigstens wenn es um die Geräte eines Herstellers geht, wenn man schon nicht alle Android-Devices auf einen Stand bringen kann. Android hat hier nach wie vor Nachteile bezüglich des Ökosystems.

Für Moto-G-Nutzer heißt es aber zugleich: Android 5.1 wird sowohl für das Moto G LTE als auch für die normale Version kommen. Prinzipiell nicht schlecht für ein Gerät, welches 2013 auf den Markt gekommen ist und damit immerhin schon fast zwei Jahre alt ist – auf dem Smartphone-Markt ist das fast eine Ewigkeit. Erste Schatten voraus wirft außerdem das Moto G der 3. Generation, welches in diesem Jahr erscheinen soll und einen deutlich stärkeren Prozessor bekommen soll.